Need Advice: PFSense with Two Wifi Routers (1 VPN)

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Starlights, Aug 30, 2016.

1. Starlights

Starlights Registered Member

I am a CS student and enjoy tinkering, however compared to most here I would probably be classified as a novice, especially in networking. As a part of self learning, I am in the process of creating a PFSense firewall for my home network. I would like some advice layout from networking and pfsense gurus out there if possible.

At this time I have two ASUS AC1900 routers. Router1 is connected directly to my Fios via ethernet (No Fios Modem since I have ethernet enabled connection). This router creates a ISP based connection for devices and appliances in my house. Router2 is connected to Router1 (Lan to Wan) with DHCP enabled so it acts as a second network. This second network (Router 2) is VPNed through AirVPN.

Depending on which network i connect the client devices to, I get the benefit of both US and VPNed network. I haven't had any issues with double NATting so far.

I am creating a small PFSense box as a firewall and will probably install Snort on it once I am comfortable with PFSense. I am not sure how to deploy this firewall so I can maintain the VPN/Non VPN functions with the benefit of having a firewall and would appreciate advice.

I plan to use my two routers for Wifi, via Lan/Opt1 on the PFSense box. If i let one of the routers handle the VPN as it does now, will the PFSense box be able to conduct deep packet inspection on the VPN packets? If not, how best to set up? What are the advantages (or disadvantage) or letting PFSense handle VPN vs the Router?

Last edited: Aug 30, 2016
  2. deBoetie

deBoetie Registered Member

Just to kick off since you have no feedback so far:

what are your existing routers running? Dd-wrt? or something proprietary.

There is no "best" answer, presuming you have open source, well-regarded, updated and configured firewall/VPN devices doing this.