Need advice dealing with music files.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Aaron Here, Dec 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aaron Here

Aaron Here Registered Member

I'm a noob when it comes to understanding music files and I need some direction. :oops:

1. I've downloaded mp3 files from 3 different vocalists, each into their own folders on my hard drive. All 3 folders will easily fit on a CD. If I burn a CD so that the root of my CD contains the 3 folders will most car/home CD players be able to find and play the mp3's in each folder?

2. I've downloaded some ape files, but after burning them to CD I find that neither my car or home stereo systems are able to play them! I'm guessing that I need to convert them to another format ...if that's the case, what format do you suggest?

Thanks,
    Aaron

2. InfinityAz

InfinityAz Registered Member

Aaron,

Generally,

1. Do not leave them in their folders (i.e., just burn the tracks themselves)
    2. Convert to MP3

3. Aaron Here

Re #1 - If I do that, the order in which the selections were recorded will not be preserved (because the selections in each folder are numbered 01...20).

Re #2 - Is there another stereo-compatible format that would better preserve the quality of ape files? Seems to me that mp3's are too compressed. :doubt:

Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  4. n8chavez

n8chavez Registered Member

It seems to me that you don't know about mp3 tags. With tags the information, Artist, Title, Genre, Year, etc, is all stored inside the actual mp3 file and is independent of the filename and file location.

There are other formats, such as flac, which provide losselss encoding, but those file types are harder to tag.

5. Raza0007

Raza0007 Registered Member

Aaron,