MYIE Browser

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ellison64, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

ellison64 Registered Member

Not sure if this is the right forum to discuss this problem , but here goes anyway.Im using MYIE rather than IE because of the tabbed browsing and faster speed.Although MYIE uses the IE engine, its getting frustrating that many security programmes wont function with these "shell" browsers.For example spybots option of "browser helper to block bad downloads" in immunise section , works great with IE but if you use a shell browser like MYIE then it doesnt.Also programmes like bugnosis and many others dont function when using these shell browsers.Im not a programmer , but i always wonder how hard it actually is to get these functions to work with the common tabbed shell browsers , that use the IE engine.Many of the common shell browsers that use IEengine are better security wise than IE due to added functions and its frustrating that you have to use IE "pure" to run securtity programmes.
    Anyone have any views on this?
    tia
    ellisonwales

2. sig

sig Registered Member

I suppose it depends on what tools you use in conjunction with these browsers. I use Proxomitron with IE, MyIE2, Firebird, Opera, etc., to filter the web while surfing and SpywareGuard and SoywareBlaster to prevent spyware downloads. These products work regardless if one's using IE or an IE shell. (Although just browsing without ActiveX eliminates a good many potential problems/threats.)