My ubuntu is slow as hell

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by bonedriven, May 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bonedriven

bonedriven Registered Member

I installed ubuntu 12.04 on Virtual box. At the beginning it went well, after a few system updates and software installation now it's only crawling. Where do I start to diagnose the problem?

I'm new to linux. In the last 3 months I've tried ubuntu and mint. Every time I had a problem (stuck at boot, and all other kinds of weird problems) with linux, all I can do was reinstallation. The longest time the linux could run normally was 7 days, until a new reinstallation.

It is totally frustrating.

2. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

Well... you're running it in a VM so this isn't exactly surprising.

3. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

Yes it is, it usually runs fine with low resources.

Well you can start by telling us what VM you're using, if your CPU supports VT-x/AMD-V, and if you've enabled it in your VM. If you have, make sure you've allowed it to use more than one CPU core.

4. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

I've never had good luck with any OS in a VM. Maybe that's just me.

5. vasa1

vasa1 Registered Member

But performance seems to degrade over time. How is that explained?

6. Umm. Do you have IO APIC enabled for the virtual machine? Because IO APIC in VirtualBox can mess up all kinds of OSes.

(It's also worth noting that, when Linux crashes randomly or fails to boot, the first resort is usually to boot with the 'noapic' kernel option.)

Also, Ubuntu comes with several daemons that can hog CPU power; it's possible one of them is making a nuisance of itself. I would run top and sort processes by CPU usage (shift+p). Chances are you'll find update-apt-xapian or such going berserk.

(If OTOH you think this is a disk I/O hogging issue, you could try iotop.)