my Security Setup

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Francis93, Feb 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Francis93

Francis93 Registered Member

Hi, I'm new to Wilders Security Forums. I would need your opinions on my current security setup:

Backup (if all else fails, my Super last resort)

- Acronis True Image Home 2011

Primary Protection (e.g. on-access scanners, real-time protection, etc.)
    - avast! Internet Security 5.1.899
    - WinPatrol PLUS

Secondary Protection (e.g. on-demand scanners, second opinion protection etc.)
    - Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
    - Hitman Pro
    - SUPERAntiSpyware
    - Spywareblaster
    - Trojan Remover

Tertiary Protection
    - UAC Max (password required)
    - SRP (Disallowed)
    - DEP (AlwaysOn)
    - SEHOP (Application OptIn)
    - EMET (Maximum Security Settings)
    - VirusTotal Uploader
    - Web of Trust (FF/Chrome)
    - AdBlock (FF/Chrome)
    - NoScript (FF/Chrome)
    - CCleaner
    - Ghostery
    - Better Privacy

What can you say:

Should I add more to my primary/secondary/tertiary protection?

Should I dump some programs?

Am I covered? Is my primary/secondary/tertiary protection enough or just overkill?

THANK YOU

Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  2. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

you are ready:thumb:
    by the way wellcome to wilders:thumb:

3. Noob

Noob Registered Member

IMO, you have too many On Demand scanners, although they don't affect computer performance, it seems to be too much.
    I would recommend removing Spyware Blaster, Super Anti Spyware, Trojan Remover. (Norton Power eraser isn't recommended as an everyday scanner according to Norton, because it's too aggressive it can damage your OS if not used correctly)

By the way SRP as unrestricted is the same as not on. (If you turn it on, you will have to learn some basic things to use it ;))