Media player

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by photoman, Dec 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. photoman

    photoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Posts:
    4
    Is it possible that after killing all these spy bot components that it is causing my media player not to work? I am also having problems getting on some websites. I use IE6 and now cannot do a basic search for files or names on my computer system.

    Thanks for your help..
     
  2. claire

    claire Guest

    Hi,
    I use Media Player,IE6 sp1 and Spywareblaster without any problems

    Regards
     
  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi photoman,

    Welcome at Wilders.

    If you're referring to Spywareblaster: I don't think that could be the cause of your problem.
    Could you go to our downloads section and grab a copy of Startuplist.
    Run it and it will make a log containing all possible startup locations.
    Post it here, or if you're not comfortable with that, feel free to mail it to me.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  4. photoman

    photoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Posts:
    4
    I could not send the startup list file as a *.txt so I will just copy the results here:

    StartupList report, 12/12/2002, 9:58:28 AM
    StartupList version: 1.35.0
    Started from : C:\Documents and Settings\Truett\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for startuplist.zip\StartupList.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2600.0000)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    E:\Alcatel\SpeedTouch USB\Dragdiag.exe
    C:\Program Files\Iomega\AutoDisk\ADUserMon.exe
    E:\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    E:\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    E:\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Executive Software\DiskeeperWorkstation\DKService.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Iomega\System32\AppServices.exe
    E:\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    E:\Speed Disk\nopdb.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Iomega\AutoDisk\ADService.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\BRMFRSMG.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    e:\MICROS~1\Office10\OUTLOOK.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Truett\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for startuplist.zip\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    ZoneAlarm.lnk = E:\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SpeedTouch USB Diagnostics = "E:\Alcatel\SpeedTouch USB\Dragdiag.exe" /icon
    ADUserMon = C:\Program Files\Iomega\AutoDisk\ADUserMon.exe
    AVG_CC = E:\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    MSMSGS = "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [>{22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95}]
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\inf\unregmp2.exe /ShowWMP

    [{2C7339CF-2B09-4501-B3F3-F3508C9228ED}] *
    StubPath = %SystemRoot%\system32\regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:/UserInstall %SystemRoot%\system32\themeui.dll

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = "%ProgramFiles%\Outlook Express\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:WINNT /user /install

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = "%ProgramFiles%\Outlook Express\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WINNT /user /install

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4340}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = %SystemRoot%\System32\ie4uinit.exe

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = %SystemRoot%\System32\updcrl.exe -e -u %SystemRoot%\System32\verisignpub1.crl

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Symantec NetDetect.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Support.com RemoteControl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\tgrc.dll
    CODEBASE = http://support.fastaccess.com/sdccommon/download/tgrc.cab

    [Support.com Configuration Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\tgctlcm.dll
    CODEBASE = http://support.fastaccess.com/sdccommon/download/tgctlcm.cab

    [CFForm Runtime]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSJAVA.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.smhplus.org/CFIDE/classes/CFJava.cab

    [{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
    CODEBASE = http://apple.speedera.net/qtinstall.info.apple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

    [OPUCatalog Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\opuc.dll
    CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\iuctl.dll
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37539.5903009259

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\macromed\flash\Flash.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\OUTC.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab

    [{E7DBFB6C-113A-47CF-B278-F5C6AF4DE1BD}]
    CODEBASE = http://www.abacast.com/download/files/Abasetup.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6,589 bytes
    Report generated in 0.181 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Not much wrong with that. Could be something in your explorer.
    Please try putting the XP CDROM in your drive and then use
    Start > Run > sfc /scannow (mind the space behind sfc) then hit OK or ENTER and let Windows check if the files you're using are still OK.

    Hope that helps, otherwise let me know,

    Pieter
     
  6. photoman

    photoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Posts:
    4
    Having tried to do your suggestion 3 times and my system freezing up each time during the process, I felt it time to contact you again. The process would get about 1/3 rd through and the system freezes up requiring a restart of the system. My system freezes up a lot anyway and I have no idea as to why.

    If you have another idea, please let me know.

    Thanks for your help so far.

    Truett
     
  7. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    How long has this been going on?
    Any ideas to anything else that might have caused it?
    Is using system restore an option?

    Sorry, more questions then answers there, but it seems something messed up your explorer and I´m trying to find out what, so we can start thinking about a cure. ;)

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  8. photoman

    photoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Posts:
    4
    This problem with media player and IE has been going on only two days. The problem with my system freezing up has been going on for over a year. I even upgraded my RAM at the suggestion of a Chaintech technician who thought I was using the wrong kind of RAM on my motherboard.

    Thanks so much for your willingness to help

    Truett
     
  9. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well, OK. If system restore is "on" you could consider going three days back to see if that solves your newest problems.
    The freeze-ups sounds like it could be a hardware problem. Maybe you could provide us with some specs.
    I noticed some of your programs starting from the E: drive. Is this the Iomega Zip drive you´re using?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    SpywareBlaster wouldn't cause any problems with your media player...

    It is possible you have spyware on your system that it disabled, however, that is causing the searching problems (although it is very unlikely). To scan for and clean spyware from your system, visit http://security.kolla.de and download Spybot S & D - if it finds anything in red, have it fix the problems, reboot, and see if your media player issue is fixed. If Spybot finds nothing, or if you have done this already, then I highly doubt the problem you are experiencing is due to SpywareBlaster. :)

    However, to remove all kills bits simply select "Deselect All" and press the "Kill all Checked" button - this will reverse all changes SpywareBlaster made.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.