McAfee firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by notageek, Jan 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well a friend of mine just got a new PC (his first ever). He wanted to know If McAfee is any good. I know nothing about McAfee cuz I have never tried it. Any know if McAfee's firewall anygood? Is there in problem with McAfee's firewall and NAV 2003 getting along? Oh yeah I might want to add this McAfee is like the $10.00 one you find at Wal-Mart that's just in the CD case.
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi notageek,

    I was on the McAfee Firewall Beta Team. I beta tested the software from its beginning thru to the gold version. I continuosly had problems with open ports and it liked to crash my WinXpHome. I would not recommend it.

    I would suggest Kerio as an excellent free alternative (or perhaps even ZoneAlarm :rolleyes: ).

    Hope this helps,
    Kent
     
  3. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    It works for me. Now I see what it's $10.00 lol
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    notageek,

    To me it was not much of a firewall :D ..........
    I do not know if I would even pay $10.00 for it ;) , especially when there are better free alternatives.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  5. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    with puff-m-d re Kerio.... excellent firewall
     
  6. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    i would also suggest your friend check out Sygate's Personal Firewall (free version)...even it's default settings are very good! It is both application and/or rule based. i do not know about support since i have never really needed it very much....but they do have a forum where members can go and post concerns or read about it for more information.

    Sygate Information Page
    http://soho.sygate.com/products/shield_ov.htm

    Sygate's Member's Forum
    http://forums.sygatetech.com/

    i haven't had any problems with it since it's last upgrade. i have it running on both my Win98se and my XP-Home and it gets along great with all my security programs and the other stuff i have on here.....it hasn't crashed on me yet. :D

    snap
     
  7. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi snap, Yes I liked Sygate very much, but it hated by AV, so had to ditch it. [actually it even stated in their known conflicts page it did not work with PC-Cillin, *sob*]
     
  8. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    It would probably work with PC Cillin if you disabled the web monitoring thingie it uses. Also need to ditch the PCC firewall.
    As for McAfee firewall. :mad: When they purchased Sygnal 9s firewalls, the bought two of the best firewalls ever made. They promptly managed to destroy both.
    I will stop now, as cursing and swearing are not allowed on this board. :doubt:
     
  9. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    I sent him over to ZA. I figure since he's anewbie I thought I owuld send him to a firewall that didn't have rules. Thanks for all everyones info.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.