MBAM scan, in normal startup or safe mode?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Lebowsky, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lebowsky

    Lebowsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Which is more effective option?
    Yesterday i cleaned up a pc that had a worm infection.
    No popups or redirects, just MBAM wouldnt update, and sites of avg and avast wouldnt open.
    i went to download.com, and got the avg installer, ran it from desktop, but it got some connection errors when it tried to download the whole application.

    I have managed to clean the pc.
    i turned off system restore, booted in safe mode, ram mbam and updated it from my USB stick, did a scan with Syperantispyware updated from USB, then ran combofix.
    After seeing it was clean with no more redirects, and mbam etc. updating normally, i turned back system restore.

    My question is, should i directly go into safe mode and do a scan, to save time? I do malware cleanup for my friends, im not a professional.
     
  2. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    USA,IA
    if the pc is infected and you can get into safe mode and the app has to be able to run in safe mode i would always run in safe mode a scan to clean.

    that will make sure most of the time the threat cant run (most of the time)
     
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  4. Lebowsky

    Lebowsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    161
  5. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

  6. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,035
    Location:
    USA
  7. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
    Hi Lebowsky,

    I can answer specifically to these questions with reguards MBAM,

    MBAM operates at its optimum when run from regular mode whenever possible as safe mode operations inhibit certain parts of our engines functions.

    The only time MBAM should be used in safe mode is when regular mode is not available.Then it is highly recommended that after the initial safe mode scan you rerun a quick scan in regular mode with MBAM firing on all cylinders:thumb:
     
  8. Lebowsky

    Lebowsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Awesome, thanks for the clarification, and thanks to all the guys in this thread for replying. My doubts have been cleared.
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,957
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Hey kcukdat,
    Is it possible to run malwarebytes with protection on and not have the IP blocker?
     
  10. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yes, you can create a registry key that disables it all the time. Just do a Google search. I can't remember off the top of my head, but I have mine disabled all the time now.
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,957
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    yeah I like MBAM but I have that the IP blocker slows down my browsing at times.
     
  12. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,957
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thanks franklin!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.