Linux Mint 9 “Isadora” released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, May 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

mack_guy911 Registered Member

2. Eice

Eice Registered Member

The best Linux distro comes to town. :thumb:

Thanks for the notice, downloading now.

3. tlu

tlu Guest

Yes, I had installed it already yesterday since I saw that it was available in the stable section of the download mirrors.

Mint 9 is indeed very nice. I'm only puzzled about one thing: I added

deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian lucid non-free

to my repos in order to get the latest version of Virtualbox (the official Mint repos only contain version 3.1.6). The new repo shows up in Synaptic under Settings and in sources.list - but not in the main window of Synaptic. So I'm unable the see the packages from that repo and update to the newest VB version.

I'm a Mint newbie and this may be a Mint peculiarity. Can somebody explain what's going on here?

4. Eice

Eice Registered Member

I assume you've tried running sudo update-apt-xapian-index?

5. mack_guy911

specially its dvd yu got vlc java openoffice i mean its best for net surfing out of box experience

6. tlu

tlu Guest

No - quite frankly I had never heard about that :oops: But anyway, it didn't help. Even with "sudo apt-get update" and "sudo apt-get install virtualbox-3.1" I only got the message that virtualbox-3.1 is already the newest version.

7. Eice

Eice Registered Member

I installed the Vbox repos myself, and oddly enough, the virtualbox-3.1 package seems to be pointed towards the karmic distribution, instead of lucid.

Did this issue happen in Ubuntu as well?

Attached Files:

8. tlu

tlu Guest