latest IE URL spoofing vulnerability

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by PhilThePill, Dec 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PhilThePill

PhilThePill Registered Member

Hi all...

This is my first time here, though I'm active in 4 other forums.

As the last post on IE flaws seems to be dated in October (?), and having scoured the site, it seemed like the right place (and time) to post this little tidbit I stumbled upon tonight, trying to get a fix for the latest IE URL spoofing vulnerability (not yet patched by MS in December). I thought it wise to let you in on this little temporary and working(!) patch from http://security.openwares.org/

BTW, this is FRESH (dated Dec. 20th)

There are 2 exploit test buttons (for before and after the patch is applied) located here : http://security.openwares.org/

You won't need 2 aspirins to feel better in the morning ! It works right away... ;)

Regards to all, Phil

2. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

Hi PhilThe Pill :)
    Welcome to wilders.

This thread looks like it is related

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=18091;start=msg112349#msg112349

snowbound

3. PhilThePill

PhilThePill Registered Member

From the same link above, this :
    And this :
    It was submitted on the 20th, but updated on the 28th.

...in regards to the post you mention, I guess I didn't look hard enough... :doubt:

Oh well...

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

I tried to go to the link in the first post but my mcafee virusscan won't allow me to open the page it says it has the exploit url spoof virus on the site so I guess I didn't need to see it anyway since I never, never, open internet explorer anyway.

Attached Files:

5. Vietnam Vet

Vietnam Vet Registered Member

Hi bigc73542,

Looked to me like that virus warning said the infected file name was Opera and that it needed to be deleted............so! :eek: :rolleyes: :D

6. bigc73542