Kingsoft Office Suite Free 2012

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Pliskin, Aug 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Re: Kingsoft Office 2012 Goes FREE

    Well, then what's the deal with the above post showing a screenshot of the trial message? Btw, no I haven't installed it.
     
  2. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Re: Kingsoft Office 2012 Goes FREE

    Just what I suspected, when a vendors site beats around the bush with the words "FREE", "Freeware", "Try for FREE", etc. It usually means the product is just a free trial not freeware. Many vendor sites use this method to sale their products but it is indeed "FALSE Advertising". I would never buy a product from a vendor who uses the "FREE" catch phrase to try to sale their products.

    Thanks.:D
     
  3. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    380
    Re: Kingsoft Office 2012 Goes FREE

    I don't know what's the deal with it. I could be wrong as well. Still, in my experience that office suite does appear to be actually freeware - it says "free", the word "trial" isn't shown anywhere (that I have seen), no nag screens, etc. Granted, I haven't worked with it for more than a couple of minutes but it does look like the real deal (free) to me.
     
  4. pirej

    pirej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Posts:
    64
    I installed it in virtualbox, and it only asked for user, initials and company..
    Everything looks as free as it can be.
    In the about info it say's "registered to user/company"
    I opened some word and exel files created with office 2007, and it works just fine.
    So.. thank's i gues, for a 68MB (FREE)exe.. great
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,690
  6. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    380
    So let's see:
    - on the index of the website (here) there is a nice band in the upper right corner that says "Freeware";
    - the suite itself is called "Kingsoft Office Suite Free 2012";
    - Softpedia lists it as Freeware;
    - the suite installs and runs without requesting any serial numbers;
    - the suite says "Licensed to <insert-your-name-here>" on its About page;
    - the suite has the word "Free" on its splash screen.
    Yet still you bicker over this "try it for free" thing. Could Kingsoft have "made a boo-boo"? Well, considering it's a chinese company, yes, it's indeed possible they could have! Is it really that uncommon for a non-english software vendor to be unclear and vague in it's descriptions and have spelling/grammatical/stylistic/punctuation errors somewhere on/in its website/program?! Heck, even vendors with english as their native language make mistakes.
    Take PE GUARD for example. Its website and the progam itself are a mess when it comes to the translation. It's engrish. Yet, nobody seems to care and people fall head over heels in love with this application (why exactly I still can't figure out but that's a different topic).
     
  7. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Tried it and it really is FREE.
     
  8. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    668
    Got this email from Kingsoft so maybe we should end the license wars :p

    sshot-897898988.jpg
     
  9. alan_b

    alan_b Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Lancashire, England
    Tut Tut - you were not permitted to disclose the contents ! ! !

    It depends upon what they mean.

    Yes, is it free, but for how long before it becomes a viewer only.

    At 10:06 yesterday I emailed this
    At 11:36 today, over 25 hours later, I still await a reply.
    Their SUPPORT page offers an on-line chat in 10 minutes
    or email response in 24 hours, as per
    http://www.kingsoftstore.com/support/support.html
    Please note that I added the red colour - it was all plain black text on their site.

    Kingsoft is a mystery.
    They have support staff to answer the phone and respond to emails,
    but no visible means of financial support.
    They do not seem to sell anything to anyone or any company and yet their software has been around for years.

    Revisiting today and looking at
    http://www.kingsoftstore.com/aboutus/partner.html
    Google had only one result when searching for "kingsoft official website pricing" - the above site.
    repeating the search without quotes gave "About 11,600,000 results (0.10 seconds)"
    but I gave up looking for a price ! !

    Still waiting for a reply.
     
  10. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    274
  11. alan_b

    alan_b Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Lancashire, England
    Strange that they keep these websites so disconnected.

    At 11:48 I received a reply which partially answered my specific query about functionality

    I will have to test duration of use by pushing the clock forward a couple of years.
    n.b. Melisa is nice - she did not obligate me to secrecy so I am permitted to disclose the contents ! !

     
  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,909
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Let's look at this from a different point of view. Perhaps the product really is free, and the one year lockdown is simply because this is a minimal modification of the paid product, and a one year license file was included because Kingsoft Office 2013 Free would be released by the time it expired.

    So, what this would mean is that it will force you to upgrade when a new version comes out, or download a new license file via updates if a new version doesn't come out.

    Can anyone ask Kingsoft whether this is the planned strategy?
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5,024
    Location:
    England
    I also sent an email to Kingsoft asking if the version was really free or just a trial. This is what I have just received....

     
  14. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    thanks ... this is a great software...very fast and compatible with almost all formats..:D
     
  15. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    505
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    yes is 100% free for personal use as you can simply read on the EULA when you install it, but KOS2012 have a great problem :
    It's only English GUI and English Dictionary (and japanese & chinese too), no other possibility for extra language, so I (italian) have to uninstall it 'cause without an italian speelcheck is completely useless
    I return on my free Softmaker 2008 office http://www.softmakeroffice.com/, it can't open and modify Docx & xlsx document but it come with an italian built in GUI & dic (for that ultimate "stupid" office 2010 files I use their viewer http://www.officeviewers.com/ )
    is enought for me
     
  16. jockgabb

    jockgabb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise Qld. Australia
    I have just got it and looks very good to me, only thing I cant work out is how to delete or add to the main toolbars as you can in Excel, can it be done?
     
  17. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,690
    Is it free forever ?

    Can you update it to newer versions ?

    Does it run out after a year ?

    I noticed site member KingsoftSecurity logged in not long ago for a while, but hasn't posted ?
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7,903
    This recently free product is much lighter than OpenOffice and its derivatives. The install, startup, and load speed difference is unbelievable. Almost like I'm using WordPad. I think editing documents is faster as well.
    Being 68.3 MB download, it requires far less disk space as well, using 252 MB on my Program Files (full installation).
    It has a tabbed interface, meaning you can open multiple files in one Window. That can be handy, and I really like it.
    The only issues are 3 programs, and 1 spell checker, which you can customize. The first issue is minor, because the essential are there: Presentation, Spreadsheets, and Writer. None of the extras like Drawing, Databases, and Formulas. That helps in slimming it down. The default dictionary seems to include both US and UK versions of the word as correct.

    Kingsoft is on a roll, creating these great freeware.

    I forgot to mention it creates a scheduled task that runs every day by default. You can configure updates via Kingsoft Office Tools > Configuration Tools > Update Settings, and then disable it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  19. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    France
    Yes, the lack of foreign spellchecker is definitely a no go for me too.
     
  20. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    using it for more than 2 years.. nothing is better than this :cool:
    fast light and compatible with almost all formats...
    now its FREE
     
  21. jockgabb

    jockgabb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise Qld. Australia
    Is it possible to delete or put in icons on the main toolbar like you can with Excel?
     
  22. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    no delete or put a single icon is not possible.. but u can remove or add toolbars like this
     

    Attached Files:

  23. william1955

    william1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    It seems, Kingsoft Suite is freeware. Pop-up with key request after changing date to let's say 2012 is resulting from error in Suite package.

    William

     
  24. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I hope they soon fix it...
    It's great to have another Free Office Suite (apart from Libre/OpenOffice).
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3,864
    Thank you for posting this great offer. I'm testing it, and it is very fast indeed (certainly faster than StarOffice 9, and the same speed as MS Office ). it also seems to be quite compatible with with MS Office . Hard to believe it is free.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.