is there possibility of booting in already booted snapshot?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by sach1000rt, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sach1000rt

sach1000rt Registered Member

i am new to this fd-isr. i created 2 snapshots. but have some questions,
    can i boot in already booted snapshot?
    fd-isr works with dual boot options of os(if 2 os's are installed in different drives)
    snapshots get infected by virus or not?

2. Huupi

Huupi Registered Member

Snapshots can only be on the System part.[useally on C:]so the dif.OS,s are all on C: fdisr demand everything on the same partion if you like to boot the dif.OS,s

3. tradetime

tradetime Registered Member

Not sure what you mean by this...been a long week.
    Don't see why not, but as Huupi said Fd-isr only works in one partition, the system partition, so it would have to be installed on both drives and they would be independant of each other. I am thinking of setting something like that up on my next machine.
    Think of a snapshot as nothing more than an OS, so yes can get infected by malware, using a frozen snap however would clear it at reboot.

4. Huupi

Huupi Registered Member

Sure you can install FDISR on different drives on the same puter but how about licence issues (different drive ID's) ?

5. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Very strange and confusing question ......... I can boot in a snapshot and I can reboot in the booted snapshot.
    You can boot in only ONE snapshot, not in two or more snapshots.
    FDISR is an Immediate System Recovery software, not a security software.
    If you go on-line and you don't have any security software installed in your snapshot, you will get infected by viruses or any other infections.

FDISR doesn't protect you against installation and execution of infections, BUT you can remove these infections, when you copy/update from a clean rollback snapshot/archive to an infected snapshot.