Is it a bad idea to have too many security filters?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by berryracer, Nov 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

berryracer Suspended Member

I use KAV, which install the NDIS filter to monitor any malicious URLS, MVPS hosts file, Ad-Block Plus

Is that overkill and would slow my browsing down? Can I do without MVPS hosts file for example?

I read on one forum online that Kaspersky doesn't play nice with modified hosts files but I'm not too sue about that

what do y'all pros think?

2. ams963

ams963 Registered Member

I'm no pro but here are my two cents. I think KAV+ABP+Norton DNS+Google strict search(if you use google of course) would be more than good enough.

3. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

Since you are using that combo is it slowing you down? Did you try with it on and off, any noticeable change? A simple experimentation and you know what works for you.

4. Niels

Niels Registered Member

Hello berryracer,

A modified HOSTS file to prevent visiting malicious webpages is passive protection, and will not slow down browsing. I would advice to keep MVPS host file.

It's possible that a security software will warn that the HOSTS file is modified.
    A security software can't decide if the modification is malicious or benign. Malware can also modify the HOSTS file to redirect you.

You can keep your protection, it will not slow down your surfing.

Regards,
    Niels

5. berryracer

Thanks a lot for the explanation guys

I guess Ill just keep my hosts file then :)

6. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member