Installing True Image under Suse 9.3

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by BrianSNJ, Aug 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrianSNJ

BrianSNJ Registered Member

Ok...this is a stupid NOOB question so please forgive me.

Also, let me say that I dearly love, treasure and enjoy the quality of Acronis products. You guys have made my life so much easier over the years!

Ok..I don't know how to install the Trueimage-setup file! lol I am new to Suse 9.3 and Linux altogether. This is the problem...enduser, not a product issue.

I decompressed the latest TI linux version that I downloaded today to a folder on my desktop. Inside the folder are 4 directories, How To Install and readme docs and a trueimage-setup executable file.

I don't know what to do next. I tried double clicking it...nothing happened. I dragged and dropped it into the RUN command GUI, nothing happened.

What do I do next?

Yes, again, I apologize for my ignorance.

2. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello BrianSNJ,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Linux Server Disk Backup Software.

Please read more on how to install Acronis True Image Server 8.0 for Linux in chapter 2 of Acronis True Image Server 8.0 for Linux User's Guide and "how to install" files that came with the installation package. Please try to follow the instructions given in these documents in order to install the software.

If you would not be able to install the software for some reasons then please tell me what exact steps described in the installation instructions are you unable to perform.

Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov

3. BrianSNJ

Yes, I did read the installation notes. I am new to Linux and this particular product under Linux. I am going to use this product to protect my installation as I experiment and screw up so I can learn without doing too much damage. lol

Ok this is exactly what I am having trouble with the instructions that say