IE question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by kdm31091, Sep 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    IE 7 is too slow for me right now (has been through all the betas and this RC1). If I go back to IE6 (w/ SP2), is it safe enough to keep there? I have Spyware Blaster, and I've implemented IE-SPYAD. Is IE6 safe enough?

    Also, is Microsoft going to to force IE7 or can we "ignore" the update (on the Windows Update list) when it comes?
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,791
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,592
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    With the precautions you've taken IE6 is safe enough.
     
  4. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi kdm,
    I have the same problem has you with IE7 RC1, and thinking of going back to IE6. have you had any problems installing IE6 again.It says on the microsoft download page that IE6 is for pre-windows SP2.
    BC.
     
  5. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    You don't need to reinstall IE6. The Microsoft download says that since it's pre SP2.

    When you uninstall IE7, IE6 restores. Usually the IE7 icons stay in place but just hit "Change Icon" to go back to the old ones.

    I found if you uninstall/reinstall more then once, it tends to be screwy.
     
  6. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Thanks for the info, much appreicated.
    Badcompany.
     
  7. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    No problem.

    I did ONE last try of IE7. I guess it runs fine now. I'll keep it, even though there are some things I liked better in IE6. Namely, you could move the toolbars around to your heart's content.
     
  8. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    I noticed that. Yet another thing that I liked in IE6 but can't do in IE7 RC1 is to create a homepage consisting of my 'favicons'. I really miss that. :doubt:
     
  9. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    I have IE6 up and running again, some of my program would not work with IE7 Spy Sweeper & Window Washer.I see you have Comodo FW & Antivir do they work well together.
    Badcompany.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.