IE downloading zip files

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Metallica, Jan 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Metallica

Metallica Guest

I hope this is the right section. I visit a few sites where I have to use IE6 because Opera will not display them properly. I noticed on one of them that zip files were being downloaded into my Temp Inet files.
    It is not a site worth recommending ;) so I will not post the link, but I would like to know how I can stop this from happening.
    Any help appreciated, but please keep in mind that I am not very experienced with IE.

2. root

root Registered Member

That's the default folder for IE downloads, I believe.
    When you click a file to download, you get a popup box that gives you the option of changing the location, file name and type. Before you click ok, check the indicated directory up top of the box and change it if necessary.

3. Metallica

Metallica Guest

I am sorry if I was unclear. Root, thanks for helping, but although these zipfiles are offered for download on that site, I never clicked them.
    They are just in that folder along with the .jpg etc. from the same site.

4. Phil

Phil Registered Member

That's pretty "iffy" behaviour for a web site. First, I would not GO there any more. :D

Second, you can stop this. It is done by scripting. You can put the site in your "Restricted Zone" or do what I do. This is from memory 'cause I'm not running IE right now, but go to Tools -> Options -> Security and click on "Custom". You will see a scroll list. Now, *I* would disable ANYTHING ActiveX. Some people find that too restrictive. Scroll down a bit more and disable File Download. You will have to reset that when you want to dl any file. Scroll down close to the bottom and disable Scripting. You will have to reset that for some sites to display properly. Yeah, I know all this is a PITA but it's the only way to browse safely with IE.