I reported for Netbios attacks

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Krusty, Nov 7, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Hello peeps
    I dunno if anyone of you has done anything for netbios attacks but I just reported for one ip address. I have been getting that nasty activity to my 137 a couple of months maybe longer, from one particular IP. 101 pieces from ports 1025 - 1028 and 1030. And the IP is located near by me. So it was kinda natural I took contact on my ISP, which appears to be the attackers ISP as well. I hope it will take affect too. :doubt:

    - regards- Ari
     
  2. snowy

    snowy Guest

    ARI

    hope that works for you.....being its your own ip it may.......otherwise I have no faith in IP's. I've been through four this year.....an will keep changing as many times as need be.......imo IP's have been very irresponsible to the needs of their customers......

    snowman
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Ok this far happened :
    I got response from my ISP. They think the attacks from that single IP were caused because of "incorrect network settings of the source computer". I really don´t believe that. I don´t believe they were caused purpously scanned either. My ISP take no any responsibility for them, not without police investigation. I think that would be unnecessary if only they changed their attitude more friendly. Internet security is on our own shoulders, BUT, we can not do much if malicious viruses are causing inconvenience, not even viruses were doing it purpously. Any other measure but reporting is illegal.
    Today I haven´t got any probes from there, so it must be off.

    -Ari-


    Information site:
    http://www.visualizesoftware.com/visualzone/20021001.htm
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Hello

    UDP 137 probes are gone from that one particular IP address. I don´t know if the ISP did it´s work or not, still no more probes. I suggest reporting for them if you notice there is activity in there near by you.

    regards Ari
     
  5. controler

    controler Guest

    Don't you think Our Internet Service Providers attemp to spy on us?
    This was disscusded a while back here. In their disclaimers, they say they are spying on their customers to provide a more secure browsing experience.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi Controler

    Wow, that was new for me. I don´t know what to say, I thought ISP peeps were dumbnuts and they had no knowledge but I might be wrong though.

    A good aspect I don´t deny.....

    -Ari
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.