i got a new mastercard.

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by attila4000, Jul 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. attila4000

attila4000 Registered Member

citibank sent me a new mastercard with a new account number yesterday and i activated it today. they stated the old account number may have been compromised but there were not any illicit purchases that i read on any of my citicard statements. the old account number has been closed. this gives me peace of mind because i have made many online purchases and standard retail purchases. i thought of doing something like this sometime in the future but citicards did it for me. this should probably be standard practice. when you receive a new card you should be given a new account number. if your credit card company has not done this for you then you should call them and close your old account and get a new credit card and account number. ;)

2. lu_chin

lu_chin Registered Member

Hi, maybe you can consider using Virutual Account Numbers instead of your real Citibank credit card number when purchasing online. It will add one extra layer of security and I find it being accepted by many online merchants.

Cheers.

3. ccsito

ccsito Registered Member