I Am A Noob: Is ESET Righg For Me?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by MrGump, Sep 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrGump

MrGump Registered Member

To All,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to read this post and hopefully giving your opinion.

Secondly, here is a little background about me and my internet habits:

I was originally a Symantec user for several years. About a year and a half ago I decided to go with Kaspersky because it was recommended to me by a person I believe to be pretty knowledgeable. A few days ago my Kaspersky license expired and I felt compelled to see what other security software was available. I had heard of NOD32 in the past and a friend told me they currently use it and love it. He also told me it's security software for the "real user" haha :D . I decided to do some research and I found that ESET Smart Security 4 beat Kaspersky in many important tests. I assume these statistics are correct because I do not even know where to get the actual test results anyway. But I assume they are factual and I have decided to download Smart Security 4 and try the 30 day evaluation.

I do not consider myself a risky user. I do download things from UseNet occasionally but overall my computer use is pretty low key. I use well known programs and I do not visit websites that are for "hackers" and stuff like that.

My question to you all:

I am a computer noob in the sense that I don't know much about setting up security software right out of the box. Is ESET software not good for a novice user like me? Is ESET meant to be used by a person like me?

Thank you for taking the time to read this and leaving your response! :D :argh:

2. MrGump

MrGump Registered Member

ouch... don't all rush at once haha :rolleyes:

3. stackz

stackz Registered Member