How to master Linux the proper way

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mrkvonic, Nov 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

My latest Netrunner Magazine article. So let me ask you a question. In order, for you, to become a master of Linux, there are two things that need to happen. One, you need to invest time studying Linux. Two, you need to do it the right way. Now, a six hundred and eight dollar question. What is the right way?

http://netrunner-mag.com/?p=3432

Cheers,
    Mrk

2. Gullible Jones

Gullible Jones Registered Member

Hmm. This is food for thought.

I've been using Linux almost exclusively for ~8 years, and experimenting a lot with it, but don't consider myself anything close to a master. In my case that's perfectly warranted; I've got a long list of things I definitely know too little about, and there are undoubtedly many more that I know nothing about whatsoever.

OTOH, I know very experienced sysadmins who still don't claim "mastery." The last fellow I worked for cut his teeth on VMS, and was one of the most humble people I've met.

I guess my 2c is that an IT professional should always be willing to learn more; and always know, and be willing to admit, that they can. Even if it makes them look stupid.

But needless to say, I haven't mastered that. ;)

3. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79 Registered Member

Hi Mrk,

Great article! Lucky me, I started with Redhat, after a long career with Unix internals.

-- Tom

4. mattdocs12345

mattdocs12345 Registered Member

Nice read. Not sure if I have the patience to learn linux in so much detail. Lets face it, Im an ex-windows user.
    But I think one of obstacles is getting a nice read that would take me from point A to point Z (yes Z not B). Something that is step by step with assumption you have zero knowledge. Too often I find guides on the net that assume you know stuff...