how do I remove a target host

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by kazzi, Apr 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kazzi

    kazzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    U.S.Europe
    Hey,

    Could someone please advise me on how to remove a targe host address from my list. :)
     
  2. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    Hi,

    Go to your TDS directory and edit the Target.txt file.
    There is no rt click menu to do it directly from the Target Host this would make it more convenient (hint). :)

    Regards
     
  3. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi, yes you can:
    TDS > System Analysis > View File > Default Target Host List ; make your changes and save.
    This way you can add and remove at wish.
    The changes might not immediately show in the Target Host drop down menu, with the next TDS start it will show what you saved there.
     
  4. kazzi

    kazzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    U.S.Europe
    Hey,

    Thanx guys. :D
     
  5. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    Hi
    I tried that method originally but nothing happened when I clicked on Default Target Host List. So I used option no. 2 :)

    Regards
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Do other notepad functions work for you from TDS? If also not, make sure there are no notepad.exe and wordpad.exe size 0 kb file sin your TDS directory. I copied the originals as they are small anyway inside the TDS directory and now Windows can create size 0kb files and copies what it wants, but i still can keep looking at the TDS notepad files where wanted :)

    HTH!
     
  7. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    Hi,

    I just tried other notepad functions i.e. view file, view log file. and none of them work.
    I removed the 0 kb files. There were a few in the directory.

    Regards
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    And after removing those 0kb size files the functions are working again? (fingers crossed you'll say yes!)
     
  9. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    Hi,

    Removing the zero kb. files probably did work.
    I have replaced notepad with notetab reg as my default so naturally TDS couldn't find notepad.

    It works for all but hard coded to notepad.

    So the answer is yes it works :)

    Regards
     
  10. kazzi

    kazzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    U.S.Europe
    Hey Gerry,

    Good to see a familiar name over here.

    I got NoteTab Light in place of M$ Notepad. Been using it for sometime now. It made resolving my problem so easy. I've certainly got my work cut out with TDS - I'm not a technical person, so trying to understand what does what and who with takes a great deal of working out. But, I'm slowly getting there.

    Have a good one. :D
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hmmm maybe this asks for some coding somewhere or change in the registry but as i'm not familiar with that, i am not advising anything like that :) But you could maybe like to place a notepad.exe file in the TDS directory to have it working again and wordpad.exe for the bigger ones. I suppose you did not actually delete them from your system just made other references right?
    I posted here several times the Faber toys from the www.faberbox.com site, on which site i saw a very nice notepad replacement too, metapad i think is the name, which seems really very interesting too for lots of functions, even as a nice editor, but i did not install it myself.
    I don't know your notepad replacement either, i'm sure you like it better then the original notepad.
     
  12. grey_ghost

    grey_ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    60
    Hi Kazzi

    Small world :) Root is a regular contributor.
    I really like NoteTab Regular. Has a nice html editor etc.

    Hi Jooske,
    Thank you for the suggestions.
    No I did not remove them. NoteTab replaces both with more functions.
    It only takes a couple of clicks to re-associate to notepad.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.