How do I diagnose cause of corrupt verify? and a THANK YOU to Acronis!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bob44, May 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bob44

bob44 Registered Member

Hello,

This post is both a thank you to Acronis, and a request for help.

I have built a new PC with two new SATA drives (one Western Digital, one Seagate).

I backed up one drive to the other using Acronis 10, then ran verify. Acronis says the archive is corrupt.

At first, I thought ATI must be buggy, especially after reading some of the posts on this forum, but I ran some tests of my own.

If I create a large, 2GB .RAR file, and copy it between drives with the "COPY /V" switch, twice (out of at least 200 tries) COPY will say there was an ERROR!

I have been using computers for almost 20 years, and building them for 15. I have never had an issue with data corruption - that I know of! I am incredibly depressed about this.

By seeing the "COPY /V" fail, I know that the issue CAN NOT be a flaw with Acronis's verify, but an issue with my new computer.

I would never have caught this if it weren't for ATI's very thorough verification process! Thank you!

Can anyone help me solve this issue?

I've tested both drives with the DOS-based diagnostic boot disks from WD & Seagate, full scan, no errors.
    I've run Memtest+ for 8 hours, no errors.
    Prime95 and Orthos for 8 hours, no errors.
    There are no error messages in the Windows XP (SP3) event log.
    I'm using the latest drivers.

I don't know what else to do! I don't have access to other hardware to help in testing (ie different motherboard, power supply or RAM).

Again, thank you to Acronis for spotting this error before I moved my data to these drives, and thanks in advance to anyone who can help me.

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member