Help with ID-BLASTER +PLUS

Discussion in 'FileChecker & ID-Blaster Forum' started by RCGuy, Apr 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Could someone simply help me to understand how to use ID-BLASTER +PLUS? I read the instructions and basically knows what it does, but after opening the main control console:

    http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/4831/resizedidblasterplus9ni.jpg

    I was really lost as to what to do next. I know that I could take 45 minutes or an hour to read everything to understand how this program functions, but I was wondering if someone who is already familiar with this program could give me a few short tips on how to use it. Thanks. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2006
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    just select the programs whose ID u want to randomize and click "Begin Randomization"
     
  3. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Do you mean like the one highlighted in my image above, Internet Explorer ID, and/or the one above it, Windows ID? (Not sure what NT -specific ID or WMP7 + WMP8 Unique ID means. o_O )
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    yes those. i think NT -specific would be Windows XP and i know WMP is Windows Media Player.
     
  5. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Okay, that sounds easy enough, but what does the "Randomnize Now" button mean?
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    when u click on randomize, ID-Blaster will change teh "product ID number", "GUID", or "Unique ID number" of the selected programs.

    u do know what ID-Blaster does, right?
     
  7. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    RCGuy: I strongly urge you to write down or print those ID numbers before you click the button to start randomization. Take the time to go through the posts of this forum and note how many people cannot now perform updates because they have lost their numbers. There is not much anyone can do to help them to recover those numbers either. Before you do any randomizing go to 'Options' then click on 'Show Current Win Product ID Values' and if you have not randomized the numbers what that window will show you are your official (real) product ID's.

    To answer your question about the 'NT-Specific ID'--I'm running Windows 2000 and I have both the 'Windows ID' and also the 'NT-Specific ID'. Both of the original 'official' numbers matched 100% the same, but now that I'm using ID Blaster Plus they are different, but I've encountered no problems as of yet.

    I think that anyone that uses this program should familiarize themselves with how to back up and restore registry entries. And then they should back up those registry entries before using this program. Otherwise...heartache.

    Some more info: to configure this program completely, click on 'Options' and then 'General Options' and change all those settings to 'Enabled'. That way when you start ID Blaster it goes automatically to the tray minimized, and automatically starts randomizing the numbers. That won't make the program start with Windows startup though. You need to make a shortcut to ID-Blaster and put it in your 'Startup' folder under Start Menu-Programs. I would edit the properties of the shortcut and change it from opening a normal window to opening minimized also.
    When you click on 'Show Incompatible Items' it will bring up a window with a list of any programs specified in your settings (for ID Blaster to change) that ID-Blaster refuses to change. This could be because the program doesn't exist on your machine, or it could be something else, like ID Blaster not liking the registry product ID value name. I will write another post about this topic.

    Be diligent, be careful, and have fun.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I strongly concur.
     
  9. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Yes, but I was just wanting to know what the difference was between "Begin Randomization" and "Randomize Now."
     
  10. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Already done on both accounts.
     
  11. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Not sure about the part about backing up and restoring my registry entries. Also, I already clicked on the "Begin Randomization" button, therefore, will I still be able to click on 'General Options' and change the settings to 'Enabled'? Plus, do I need to make this program start during Windows startup? Additionally, you lost me in the last paragraph of your quote above.
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    "Randomize now" just randomizes teh number when i click it. "Begin Randomization" will randomize the number at the selected interval (e.g. every 30 min).
     
  13. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I posted about how to backup those specific registry locations that store the ID numbers here:
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=125779
    Concerning the 'General Options'-- you can change those entries at any time, even with the 'Randomization' button pressed.
    You don't have to have ID Blaster start at Windows startup. You could just let it randomize once and then manually shut down ID Blaster.
    I thought you'd asked about the 'Incompatible Items' that's why I gave what little info I knew. Maybe it was someone else.
    I dunno. I've got the flu and feel pretty out of it right now. :gack:
     
  14. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Nowhere Man, if you're still around, could you please elaborate? I already went into Options and Enabled everything, but I don't fully understand what you said in your quote above. BTW, I hope you're feeling better from the flu. I'm trying to get over a head cold that I've had since March 30th. My doctor just prescribed some antibiotics for me yesterday(Monday).
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    if u want ID-Blaster to randomize the ID numbers at an interval, it has to remain running in systray. however if u just randomize the numbers once, u can then close the program afterwards.
     
  16. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Could someone elaborate a little bit more on how this is done. I would like ID-BLASTER to automatically run at start up.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,179
    Location:
    Texas
    Using XP, right click on your desktop. Select new shortcut. Browse to the IDBlaster folder.Click on IDBlaster.exe. That will put the shortcut on your desktop.
    Click the left mouse button and drag that shortcut to the start button. It will open your menu. Drag the shortcut to the startup folder and release the mouse button.
     
  18. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    I was able to do everything expect for near the end when you said to drag the shortcut to the startup folder. I don't quite know where the startup folder is.
     
  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,179
    Location:
    Texas
    It should be under start, all programs, startup.
     
  20. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    536
    Okay, I see it, but I had to double click on it(Startup) to open it so that I could drag the IDBlasterplus shortcut icon into it. Thanks.
     
  21. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,179
    Location:
    Texas
    Okay. :thumb:
     
  22. HannahF

    HannahF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Can someone tell me how to delete ID BLASTER PLUS from my computer everytime i try i recieve and error messeege.:mad:
     
  23. Get

    Get Guest

    Can you tell me what the errormessage says if you can remember? If you can't, read the following before you try to uninstall it again to provoke another message!!:

    I guess you mean uninstall when you say delete? First things first: Open ID-Blaster-> go to "Options"-> "General Options"-> set everything on "Disabled"-> Click "Save Changes"-> "Close". On the main screen click "Stop Randomization!" (when it says "Begin Randomization!" do nothing). Now comes the tricky part... did you save the original ID Values..? If yes : go to "Edit"-> "Manual Value Change"-> "Manually Edit Win Product ID Values" and replace the values with the originals-> "Save Changes"-> Close. Close the main screen and you can uninstall ID-Blaster by going to "Start"-> "Control Panel"-> "Add or Remove Programs". After uninstall restart the pc and delete the folder "C:\Program Files\ID-Blaster Plus" (only the ID-Blaster Plus-folder!). When you didn't save the original values then you're in a "bit" of trouble, because windowsupdate won't work anymore.
     
  24. HannahF

    HannahF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanx heaps Get windows update is working fine you are a pure genious! Thanx!:D
     
  25. Get

    Get Guest

    You're welcome, but it would be nice if you told how it went...did you just follow what I wrote and didn't the errormessage appear because of that for instance..? The part of me being a genius I wouldn't contest nor admit to, as no genius would of course.:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.