Help with deciding a firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by gracie123, Aug 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gracie123

gracie123 Registered Member

Hi. This is my first time here, my daughter and I are on a LAN here at our house and we are trying to decide to either go with ZoneAlarm Pro 6 (the latest version of it) or go with Ewido internet security. We seen a "demo" of ewido and how powerful it stopped this virus from spreading on the PC and I am just curious if the new "Triple Defense Firewall" in ZoneAlarm would prevent just as many things as say ewido claims it can.

I'd appreciate any help anyone can give.

Take care,

Gracie :)

2. Edwin024

Edwin024 Registered Member

Ewido is no firewall...

I myself use the latest Tiny Firewall. It's great. Also Outpost does quite well And you can even use the free Netveda. Also cool. Good luck testing them!

3. gracie123

Oh ok... It said it was or maybe I missunderstood it. Anyway, I appreciate the reply Edwin024. :)

Gracie

4. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

Ewido doesn't appear to be either a firewall OR an anti-virus, so it seems a little misleading to call itself a "security suite". It looks like it's mostly aimed at preventing or stopping other things. So if you're looking for a firewall then ZoneAlarm Pro would be a better choice.

5. mlr1m

mlr1m Registered Member

I also use Tiny-Pro 2005, and have for a few years now.
    But i cant say id reccomend it for a casual user. It has a very steep learning curve. Its manual is outdated and seldom updated and it can kill your system if you make the wrong settings.
    But! If that doesnt scare you, TPF is the most powerful firewall/security system ive ever used, and i love it.

Michael

6. Slovak

Slovak Registered Member