Help Creating a Batch File

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by puff-m-d, Jun 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

puff-m-d Registered Member

Hello,

First off, I have very little experience creating batch files and searching for a way to do what I want has yielded little results.

Here is what I am trying to do. I need to open a elevated command prompt that will run this code:
    Code:
    for /f %x in ('wevtutil el') do wevtutil cl "%x"
    What this does is clear out all of your Event Viewer logs.
    I can manually open an elevated command prompt window, insert that code, hit enter, and it deletes all of the Event Viewer logs perfectly. I just cannot come up with a way to automate that so I just have a file or link that I just double-click and then that code will run...

Anyone that can help me accomplish this, I will very much appreciate it.

2. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Hey Kent,

Not sure if this does the same as I have never tried.

But CCleaner (if you have it installed) under advanced has an option called "Windows Event Logs" if you tick/enable that option and run CC maybe that will then clean them out. But as I said I have never tried that myself. :)

3. puff-m-d

Hello SweX,

I have seen that option in CCleaner (it has been there for a while now I believe). On my system (Windows 8.1.1 Pro 64 bit), it has never found or deleted anything (using either "Analyze" or Run Cleaner"). It may work on others systems or Windows versions, but not here...

4. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Right, then maybe it's supposed to clean out other logs than those, or it doesn't work correctly under Win 8. I don't know. :doubt:

5. puff-m-d

Yeah, I am not sure what it should find and clean but it always finds 0 files when I analyze and nothing shows in CCleaner logs if I clean. I can verify by opening Event Viewer and seeing all the logs are still there.