Got my Ubuntu cd, now what?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by acr1965, Jan 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    I tried to run the live cd so I inserted in then rebooted but nothing happened. I also tried to just insert the cd with Windows already running but the cd wanted to install firefox. I already have firefox in Windows- can Ubuntu not detect that? Also, what happens to the firefox download once I stop using the live cd?

    I would like to just run the live cd to check out the desktop applications and also surf the internet some to kinda get broken in first. Any suggestions?
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,988
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Are you changing the boot order of your BIOS?
     
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    When you start up the Ubuntu disk within Windows it justs presents you with some open source programs to install like Firefox and OpenOffice among others. It does not know what is on your system.

    Like zap said, check the boot order in BIOS and make sure your CD/DVD drive is first to check for booting.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    I set the cd to boot up but I get a message that says (err_mask=0x40). I have Vista Home Premium.
     
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If all else fails you could use virtualbox to install ubuntu in a virtual machine in windows. That way you can safely play around with linux with no risk to your host system. Thats what i did when i first started using linux.
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Sorry I can't explain the detail's but it sound's as though you'll need to make a chipset controller/drive port adjustment in bios. Take a look at what's going on here for example - http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=156904

    It's up to you to forward similar spec's and possibly the option's available in bios.
    This your current ride - http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1077239&postcount=19?

    530 raid mode - https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/ source/linux-source-2.6.22/ bug/153702?

    Short commentary echoing my initial statement - http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=4196673


    GF
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.