google says tor is a spyware

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by testsoso, Jul 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. testsoso

    testsoso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    130
    i used tor to make a google search, and google return a messege:

    We're sorry...

    ... but your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application. To protect our users, we can't process your request right now.

    We'll restore your access as quickly as possible, so try again soon. In the meantime, if you suspect that your computer or network has been infected, you might want to run a virus checker or spyware remover to make sure that your systems are free of viruses and other spurious software.

    We apologize for the inconvenience, and hope we'll see you again on Google.
     
  2. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    Google is thinking that your IP is attacking their servers.
    Did you browse behind a proxy ? If so, try to connect direct to Internet and make the same search again.

    MaB
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Tor :)
     
  4. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    :ouch: Sorry, it was a dumb answer :oops:

    MaB
     
  5. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Don't feel bad, mate :)
     
  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,375
    Location:
    New England
    It's not specifically a target against all Tor usage, but rather a Google defense mechanism when the volume from any one IP address hits some threshold they've set. I've seen it myself, then seen it pass and return to normal from the same IP address, as well.

    A previous discussion on this topic:

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=165553
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.