Good bye AVG & IPE.. Hello NOD32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Zhen-Xjell, Feb 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    In reading tonight what has happened with IPE, I won't be "upgrading" especially when they are not very well known to score high on the Wild List tests.

    So NOD32 here I come.  I installed it a couple days ago, and it is now running very well I may add.  I don't know what kept me so long.
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    :-/ I just went to AVG from VCatch... I take it you are saying that NOD32 might be a better freeware solution?
     
  3. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    NOD32 isn't freeware.  AVG doesn't do very well in the Wild List tests.
     
  4. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    IMHO Nod is to AV'S what TDS is to AT'S !
    And i won't even mention what L'n'S is to firewallls:D
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    AVG has not scored a 100% detection rate recently on the virus tests...

    I may have to switch to NOD32 myself...based on its scores (100% detection on the tests for a while) and its speed, and what I've heard about it - it seems to be a good investment.

    -javacool
     
  6. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    hmm what kinda investment would we be talking?
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Detox,

    NOD32 costs 39 US Dollar for one year licence.

    See their website:
    http://www.nod32.com/
     
  8. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    Renewal is 70% of then current rate.
    $39 x70% =$27.30
     
  9. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    hmm hate to pay yearly but then again it really does look good and I suppose that certainly means never being out of date either...
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Thanks Mickey!!!
    I forgot that one.
     
  11. JAS

    JAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    18
    Howdy all! I would have to agree with the comments on NOD32. I use to have NAVCE and it failed me. I now use and sell NOD32 in my area. If I can be of help then please let me know. Thanks, JAS
     
  12. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    I do have some questions about NOD 32

    I am a former user of NAV

    1. Freeze on startup - especially when Amon is set to show Icon

    2. Can't use NOD and Powertools together takes agaes to open

    3. Same with turbonavigator

    4. I love the programm but everytime it sarts doing soemthing it gives me freezes, that last from 5 to 30 seconds

    I am using win98se on a Laptop with a PII 233 and 64MB

    Ruben
     
  13. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    tosbsas - I'm fairly certain that what's killing you there is your processor speed and lack of RAM.

    An upgrade of either (both would be better) would smooth things out for you. Pete
     
  14. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    I know, buuuut and didn't have these problems with NAV - and thats supposed to be a hog :)--((

    Ruben
     
  15. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Which leads me to ask: Are you sure you've removed all traces of NAV from the computer in question? You could be having conflicts from remnants of it going on, especially if you didn't un-install, but merely shut down NAV and are running TDS instead.

    However, a good check with your PowerTools should let you know if anything reainms of NAV if you did un-install it.

    Just a thought. Pete
     
  16. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I had the same problem with NOD32... Also, When I am opening my “downloads folder” (when Amon running in background), my computer temporary freezes (5-7 sec)...I got around 25-30 files in this folder…

    I solve the problem!!! I removed NOd32  :D

    I don't need any upgrade on my Computer
     
  17. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    lol! What an incredibly direct solution! Computer specs? What are you using for an AV now, then? pete
     
  18. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Hey Pete,

    I am kind of not willing  to uninstall NAv completely, cause there still are some flaws in NOD. So i did remove it form loading, checking with regrun that everything is turned of, but at Nods they too try to blame it on NAV.

    So I will have to wait for a suposed new release that will load before everything else loads, sounds as if they know there is a problem. Also the are throwing away the three icon thing, but wheno_O

    Ruben
     
  19. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    tosbsas - Well, hey, that's great then! Just keep using NAV until the NOD32 people get their new version out. Have you already purchased it? Pete
     
  20. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Yes - I actually got a licence a few days ago and I am asking all my poeple to check it out

    Ruben
     
  21. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I am using Kaspersky Anti-Virus & TDS3 (manual scan)
    DrWeb32 -Resident scan
    ADinf- Integrity Checker
    Norton Corporate Edition (double check)
    AVK 11 (double check)

    My computer specs are down below (signature)
     
  22. JAS

    JAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    18
    I would have to agree with spy1. I had to get NAVCE "bloatware" out of the registry and then NOD32 runs great. I don't reccomend using 2 AV's at the same time as one should do the job. I also run TDS-3, Wormguard and OP Pro all at the same time and system is not slow. I would also upgrade the CPU and or RAM depending on what proggies you are running. I have XP Pro, Dual Plll-1000's, 512 PC150, Hercules 3D Prophet ll 64 DDR, Hercules Theater XP, 4 SCSI hard drives and run allot of Adobe for my high-end graphics and the system is real fast. I set NOD32 to scan All Files and Deep ect. Have you updated your NOD32?
     
  23. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Technodrome,

    Could you please tell us all some more about that ADinf - Integrity Checker?

    Thanks!
     
  24. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Yes I can but if you got time go here and you'll know everything... http://members.tripod.com/technodrome24/adinf.htm (there are some cool, ADinf32 GUI shots)

    ADinf is a sophisticated data integrity system, which senses even the imperceptible modifications in the files system and system areas, changes in files, newly created and deleted (sub)directories, newly created, deleted, renamed files, and files moved from one directory to another.

    I am using this product since 1999 and it's very cool utility... It needs less then minute to check 70,500 files (on my computer) for the modifications and changes in the files, system, system areas, so-called invisible (stealth) viruses, etc… It only cost 19.95$ and works perfectly under Windows XP. (Including 95/98/ME/NT/2000 as well).
    Any suspicious file change will be discovered and take care of. It saved me several times when AV product failed. I just Love it. ADinf is Similar to Kaspersky AV Inspector. But in my opinion (and others too) ADinf is far better IC the KAVI and it has more features then KAV Inspector. I won’t even touch speed issue..


    You can try it from here: http://www.adinf.com

    Should you have any other question or comments please feel free to post here or email me….
     
  25. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi TD,

    Thanks so much!
    As you perhaps might remember, I posted at the old board about NISFileCheck and I'm very interested in these kind of programs.

    Would you mind if I start a new thread in "Other Security Issues" and copy/paste your posting?

    I'm only a bit thinking to name the thread "ADinf" (for only this program) or a more general one, something like "Integrity Checkers". Any preference at your side?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.