From BRONTOK.A to BRONTOK.B?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jebs, Aug 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jebs

jebs Registered Member

Hi guys!

A week ago my PC got infected with BRONTOK.A. I tried many anti-brontok scanner, washer, remover that many here in the board suggested but to no avail. Since I am just a newbie here, for the past few days I got to be abled to come and read the right thread. Thanks, now I got the right antivirus scanner for the job. NOD32 is really a true winner! AVG is also good! Thanks to this great site wilderssecurity.com! (I found out this great site while searching in google for BRONTOK.:cool:)

Anyhow, when I first got the worm it was BRONTOK.A, but when the scanner detected it, it changed to BRONTOK.B.o_O I read here in the board that some got infected with BRONTOK.C, .D, etc. It seems that there is a transition going on while the worm is in your system. What is the difference between those variants?

In BRONTOK.A a green like web page will pop up on your screen monitor from time to time with the word BRONTOK.A written in red. There were also some words on the screen which I believe an Indonesian language.

I don't have much and very limited knowledge when it comes to computer technicalities. So allow me to ask this question: Is it okay that I have deleted all the infected files (about 750 of them) without backing up? Most of the infected files were all in the "System volume information/restore" and "Document and Settings/local setting/application data/". In each file, there were long numbers with it which I don't understand what was it, and I deleted them all, anyway. If my system crash because of that, I have no choice but to do a full reformatting on my HDD.

Thank You wilderssecurity.com! and MORE POWER!:thumb:

GOD Bless you all!:cool:

2. Tommy

Tommy Registered Member

Last edited: Aug 7, 2006
  3. sick0

sick0 Registered Member