First use in anger

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by flimbag, Apr 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flimbag

flimbag Registered Member

I've been using ISR and True Image together for about two years now, and yesterday was the first time I had to use them in real disaster recovery circumstances.

I had had reason to try and recover from an Acronis True Image on a server a couple of years ago, but that didn't go well at all. Possibly because it was True Image 7, with a RAIDed server. But that wasn't my system, I hadn't set it up or tested it.

Here's what happened:

I trashed my operating system -- kernel or system file had disappeared, so I tried to do a Windows CD rescue (I didn't have a recent online copy of my primary partition, though I did have data, offline snapshots and Acronis Images on another internal disk.)

Big mistake.

Windows overwrote my mbr, started asking me for other drivers that I don't have to hand (because I've got the builders in -- don't ask) and then my wireless keyboard and mouse would just stop functioning half way through.

A quick boot into Bart PE to back up my data just to be certain, and then a True Image recovery, followed by restore of my off-line snapshots via ISR, and then recovery of my data files via True Image incremental mode, and I was back where I was a few hours earlier. Doing this manually would have taken me at least a couple of days.

Nice to know you can rely on your tools when the crunch comes.

2. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

flimbag,
    If I read this well, it sounds to me, that Acronis True Image let you down, not FirstDefense-ISR.
    In your case I would be also very angry, but I don't understand why you post this in the FirstDefense-ISR forums and not in the Acronis forums.
    We talk sometimes about Image Backup softwares, because they have to recover FDISR-snapshots as well, but problems with ATI itself are discussed in the Acronis Forums.