Firewall Recommendation

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by JO, Oct 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JO

JO Guest

Hi. I just found this site and wanted to pop in with a quick question. I recently moved from a dial up account to DSL and now feel like I should get a personal firewall.

I'm pretty computer proficient but I'm far from a firewall expert. I've pretty much narrowed my choices to Norton PF 2003 and Sygate Pro 5.0. Just wondering what you you recommend out of the two. I keep reading conflicting reports about which one is better. I looked into Zone Alarm but have heard enough horror stories to stay away.

I am looking at Norton because I am running Norton Antivirus 2003 and don't want the firewall to conflict with the A/V. I have also read that Norton is easy to set up. But on the hand Sygate seems to give me more control over rules, which I like. I've also read Sygate is a more powerful firewall.

Oh one more thing, I use aol as my ISP so would need one that woks well with aol.

I'm totally confused at this point and any help would be appreciated. o_O

Thanks.

2. root

root Registered Member

I would personally prefer Sygate over Norton. I do believe Sygate is a very robust firewall. Kerio is also a strong contender.
    You might also take a look at Outpost. http://www.agnitum.com/products/outpost/
    It is getting very good reviews, and the soon to be released verion 2, should prove to be awsome.
    I'm a little prejudiced as I'm a mod and beta tester at Agnitum. :D
    I know a lot of people like Norton, but I just can't stand bloated programs.
    There is also the issue of support, and I am not aware of any good news about Norton support on a personal level.
    With Sygate, at least King has put up a website, and is good about helping people.