Example of PG actually blocking malware

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Starrob, Aug 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Starrob

    Starrob Registered Member

    Apr 14, 2004
  2. abhi_mittal

    abhi_mittal Registered Member

    Mar 20, 2005
    Nice Post...looks very interesting! :D
  3. controler

    controler Guest

    If I click on either page 2 or in that thread, this is all I get

    "503 Request temporarily denied: too many requests arriving from your IP address. See this page for more information"

    Clicking on the this page link gives this.
    "About: request denied, error 503

    Your current IP address has issued more than 60 page
    requests in a single 2 minute period.


    Has requested/posted 25k bytes per second for 2 minutes, on average.

    For the purpose of server stability, we are forced to return
    a 503 error to further requests, until the above counts reduce..

    If requests continue at a high rate, then your IP address
    may be auto-blocked and every page on the site will return 401 errors
    (permission denied).

    Why did you get this error? - five common reasons

    1. Perhaps you are running some software such as Ad-Aware or
    AdShield or other newer service that requests more than
    just the one page at a time. Disable it or reinstall it - it is buggy!

    2. Perhaps you are trying to POST a BMP image file? and pressing retry?
    BMP files suck. they are totally uncompressed and huge. Convert
    to GIF or JPG before you try uploading multi megabyte screenshots!

    3. Perhaps your web browser tried to 'archive' an entire page
    including all links ..

    4. Perhaps you just clicked very fast, page by page, in which case
    a short delay will return service to you.

    5. Perhaps your IP address is a company proxy or gateway IP and
    for some reason, many colleagues sharing one IP address all trying
    to use the site for some reason.

    What do you do now?

    well, you can wait a while, a few minutes, and if that does not
    work, 20 minutes or more. Make sure you have disabled any extra
    software which may be causing multiple page requests..

    If you persist in getting this error, then please email
    webmaster @ dslreports.com
    before doing that, access a unique URL that will be caught in our
    logs, for example:
    and in the email, tell us what unique URL you accessed, so we
    can find what IP we are blocking and why."

    This is my virtual box and it only has XP, IE, and PG with all updates LOL
    NO other software on here. NO AV, AT or Firewall. I am using a gatway but I AM the only one on it trying to access the site.

    Wierd huh?
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Oct 7, 2004
    ive gotten the same error. maybe u need to login?
  5. controler

    controler Guest

    I don't see the point in making us log in to view more then one page.
    Never had to before.
    DSLreports is havin issues today not me :D

  6. c3tn

    c3tn Guest

    Well someone who is using firefox 1.0PR needs all the protection he can get. I hope he has more than just ProcessGuard.
  7. controler

    controler Guest

    If you are using a router and PG with block new and changed apps and all global protection enabled, what more protection do you need?

    Course I use Windows shared toolkit too.

  8. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Dec 11, 2003

    In this mode, PG seems to be very similar to Anti-Executable. However, whereas AE will allow updates to the AV, I do not think PG will. Therefore, it would seem that PG's total protection mode is not practical for users such as myself, who ar running with AV autoupdate. Comments?

  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Jun 16, 2005
    My FF didn't cancel when I visited theonion.com. No adsf.exe either.
    I guess my FF is better secured than his FF.

    EDIT :
    MVPS Hosts blacklists these websites of theonion, but not "www.theonion.com" adbot.theonion.com oascentral.theonionavclub.com

    That's why I had access to "www.theonion.com" with FF.
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2005
  10. controler

    controler Guest


    I am not sure how adding DEF's has anything to do with PG in full secure mode.

    DEF's are not apps. You can change all the normal files you want with PG.

    I didn't have any problems updating my Beta's with PG.

    As for now on my test system, I am not running any AV, AT or firewall other then my router set to high. Just running PG and MS shared toolkit.

    As for AE I tried it out at same time I tried deepfreeze and it didn't work that well for me.
    I can tell you my test machine is only a PIII 850/ 1 gig RAM and it flys and anything that gets fragmented gets cleared on reboot.

  11. Starrob

    Starrob Registered Member

    Apr 14, 2004
    You can now read page 2, 3, and 4 on DSLreports. It looks like this can affect FF 1.06 as well. So this might be a legitimate stop by PG.

    It appears this was a trojandownloader. Depending on the date this was blocked it could have caused harm or it could have just been a dead file since the site where the "trojan" was to be downloaded from is now shutdown.


    Last edited: Aug 28, 2005
  12. ct3n

    ct3n Guest

    It's still not yet confirmed whether it will affect FF 1.0.6. In any case, it is a legitimate stop by PG whatever version of FF . It would have being catch by anything that monitors exes starts though.


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.