ESET Smart Security Public Beta 1 Status Update

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by agoretsky, Apr 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petersteiner

    petersteiner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    Installation doesn't work here. "Vratenie Spät - akcie:" and then it rolls everything back. o_O

    "Produkt nie je mozne nainstalovat, pretoze pocitac nebol restartovany po predchadzajucejt odinstalaacii. Zrestartujte pocitac a znovu spustite instalaciu."

    WTF o_O
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  2. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,958
    The NOD32 eye in 3.0 had became more colourful!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    It kinda reminds me of the "Simon" game :)

    Looks sweet, I can't wait for it to get here
     
  4. den_zip

    den_zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    russia
    God blessed slovak and russian are brother languages
     
  5. petersteiner

    petersteiner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    den_zip, do you understand why the installation doesn't work on my machine? Can you get it installed?
     
  6. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    Hi all, I have just installed ESS.. Everything runs smoothly so far.
     
  7. mrtwolman

    mrtwolman Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Posts:
    613
    Text in quotes says something like: Go back.... And it does what it should :D

    But maybe there was some longer text displayed before...

    "Produkt nie je mozne nainstalovat, pretoze pocitac nebol restartovany po predchadzajucejt odinstalaacii. Zrestartujte pocitac a znovu spustite instalaciu."

    text says you need to reboot after you have deinstalled previous version. Reboot and try again.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,947
    Location:
    North Carolina
    this is great. Hopefully they will roll it out for other countries later today. Kudos Eset.:)
     
  9. FiSz

    FiSz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    yep add Polish to this list ...:D ill test this beta, anyone know when English version will be available?
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I just installed the Slovak version on my test XP Pro SP1 (800 mhz , 256 mb RAM)
    I also had problem with installation , however it finised and the product is running .

    First the installation hanged for a while here : Instalovanie ovladacov and before that . I simply waited (30 seconds or more) and it continied .

    Then Windows warned me that "The software and the drives I install haven't passed Windows logo certification and recommended I stop the installation - about ESET Smart security and about the ESET firewall" . I accepted the installation and continued.

    The icon is ok . I noticed there are two types of mode . Just like NOD , it has two processes - egui.exe and ekrn.exe (kernel and control center).It is really light on my computer (ekrn.exe the kernel uses ~26 MB RAM , the egui.exe about ~1 MB) .

    The firewall works automatically which is good , asked me just once but I really do not understand Slovak and pressed "Ani" whatever it means (probably "Yes") . Really don't know .

    I tested it with Eicar variants and a Trojan Simulator . The internet blocker works better than IMON and more efficently , I believe .The file scanner and the interner scanner first blocked the test threats but after that the internet scanner missed it (were caughed by the file scanner) .

    Looks really interesting but I really do not understand Slovak . Go Go ESET and push the English versions (please , think about Bulgarian version :) :D )
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2007
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Peter , what does "Instalovanie ovladacov" and the text before it means in Slovak ?
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,947
    Location:
    North Carolina
    good job Hitech, this may just turn out to be a joyous week yet.
     
  13. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Trjam , proud to be the first one who deeply analyzed the installation and some other stuff :D :D
     
  14. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    It means "Installing drivers...."
     
  15. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    Sheesh, you guys can't even wait for your native language versions. :D
     
  16. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Thanks very much .
     
  17. mrtwolman

    mrtwolman Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Posts:
    613
    "Instalovanie ovladacov" = Drivers instalation.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,947
    Location:
    North Carolina
  19. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Thank you , too , Peter :thumb:
     
  20. petersteiner

    petersteiner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    I got it running now. I already had 2.7 uninstalled but maybe there were some leftover folders.

    Definitely dig the new interface!
     
  21. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    very nice of you ESET. mrtwolman, is the international (english) version going to be released today also ?
     
  22. Steel

    Steel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    219
    And the german, too ? :rolleyes:
     
  23. den_zip

    den_zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    russia
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,947
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well hopefully. But I think all the chit chat can cease now that the proof is out there. ;)
     
  25. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello, :)

    Yea, it's really hard to try this when you don't understand the language. Firewall is nice and original, there are rules, although I don't see the TCP flag-level filtering. But I have no doubts that it is stateful. Supports IPv6, of course. A little confusing layout, but I suppose that you have to get used to it, classic ESET style :D . The resources are in two processes, the service and the GUI, the service takes just over 30Mbs. Please continue (native slovak speakers)... :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.