ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 unveiled

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Marcos, Sep 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,330
    Hello,

    We are pleased to announce the availability of the longly anticipated product line 5 of ESET's flagship products ESET NOD32 Antivirus and ESET Smart Security.

    New features:
    Host-Based Intrusion Prevention System (HIPS) - blocks unauthorized changes by programs.​
    ESET Live Grid - cloud-powered reputation system allowing for faster, more accurate malware detection and prevention of false positives.​
    Improved memory scans - increase the chance of revealing unrecognized malware active in memory​
    Removable Media Control – system for preventing malware infection from USB flash drives, CDs and DVDs, etc. Supports creation of rules based on specific media parameters.​
    Gamer Mode - suspends pop-up notifications, scanning and scheduled tasks while playing.​
    Shutdown after scanning - your computer can now shut down automatically as soon as an on-demand scan has completed​
    Transparent IMAP/IMAPS scanning - besides POP3/POP3S, email received via IMAP/IMAPS is now checked independently from the email client used​
    Other minor improvements and fixes


    Download link:
    http://www.eset.com/download/home/detail/family/2

    Installation:
    ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 can be installed over version 3 or 4. However, since some options have been removed in v5 and new ones added, we'd recommend uninstalling your previous version and installing ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 from scratch.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  2. jasonblake7

    jasonblake7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    What about the business edition ?
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,330
    Business Edition is a different product. When a beta version based on v5 is available, it will be announced through official channels as well as here at Wilders'.
     
  4. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    Download page still showing v4 ...
    --
    bc
     
  5. jasonblake7

    jasonblake7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    thanks for the reply Marcos.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,330
  7. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
  8. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
  9. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,624
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    if we setup a couple of v5 clients in the office, can they update from the v4 ERAS?
     
  10. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    No, v5 home can only update from the official ESET update servers. Remote Administration is also disabled.
     
  11. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,624
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    this is a pain in the timing - we have a local SMALL BUSINESS trade-show on Thursday and no information on v5 in the packet, many smaller customers buy home as at 3-6 seats they see no reason for ERAS and the business edition.
     
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    A quick look around the ESET Partner sites shows v4 across the board.

    Some third party sites are hosting v5 already but most do not differentiate between home and business versions.
     
  13. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Even though their download page might show v4, the links actually point to v5 if they have used the official eset download servers.
     
  14. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    So, if I point to the US Business Downloads I will get a v5 build, is that what you are saying ?

    The business download installer clearly does not prompt for a v5 installer. Repair or Remove are the two options I was given.

    Standing by for further instructions. :)

     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Congrats.
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,330
    The US download page will be updated shortly after the San Diego office opens. However, the links point to v5 as it's been already mentioned.
     
  17. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    It may read v4 but actually it is v5 from the official download page. I've already installed it. :)
     
  18. garyrh

    garyrh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    You are right it is V5 but it is saying V4. I also installed it.
     
  19. ESS474

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    201
    Location:
    S?o Paulo (Brazil)
    Marcos,

    You do not post the availability of languages for now.
     
  20. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    No, v5 is only Home edition. Business edition wil follow later.
     
  21. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    Ah, ok, thanks. Just installed it as well. So far so good.
    --
    bc
     
  22. Wallace

    Wallace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    South Manchester, UK.
    I just renewed my 2 PC license for NOD Antivirus v4, bummer.

    Am I entitled to get a discount of NOD Antivirus 5? I can't find any reference to a existing user discount on the site.
     
  23. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,180
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    now you can upgrade to v5 using the license.
     
  24. rekun

    rekun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    With Eset you can always upgrade to the newest version for free
     
  25. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Thanks for this, however, this was not the case as of my last writing. I will wait for the Business download to be populated until I announce where I have preliminary announcement threads commenced.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.