Encrypting a whole drive, couple of questions?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Socio, Mar 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Socio

Socio Registered Member

I read the FAQ posted in this thread which is one hell of a good read by the way.

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=69036

Anyway that fact has got me thinking about encryption, specifically a whole main drive and so pardon me if I sound newbish but I have a couple of questions:

1, If you encrypt your whole main drive including OS does your desktop maintain normal functionality, I mean does everything look, work and act the same, apps still open an run normally?

2, If you install a new app or save a new document to your encrypted drive does the new program or doc automatically get encrypted?

Thanks!

2. Chris12923

Chris12923 Registered Member

I'm not an expert on this but from what I know for most encryption software.

Yes.

Yes.

Hope this helps,

Chris

3. Socio

Socio Registered Member

Thanks for the reply,

I have one more:

Does running an encrypted drive with your OS on it slow down your systems performance?

So far it sounds like a good idea unless you have to take a noticeable hit on performance.

4. Chris12923

Depends on the program but with a speedy computer it's not going to bring you to a crawl but you may notice a slight slowdown.

Please check the link listed in this post it is very helpful. http://www.panta-rhei.dyndns.org/pantawiki/SecurityAndEncryptionFaq?action=print

Hope this helps,

Chris

5. Socio

Socio Registered Member

That is what got me started thinking about the whole encryption thing.

I have yet another question, is it possible to back up sensitive data on to a CD or DVD encrypted? If so would you have to copy all the data back to your harddrive to view it or would you still be able to view it on the DVD or CD even though its encrypted?

Thanks

6. Chris12923