EAV ERA Console questions...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by rpelletier, Aug 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rpelletier

rpelletier Registered Member

I'm looking elsewhere as well for the answers to these questions, but hope someone can save me some looking. In general, I am happy with EAV 3x so far (I am relatively new with it), but find its documentation somewhat lacking.

Is it possible to enter a name and password to always be used when pushing out EAV to a client on the LAN? It gets tiresome re-entering the admin name and password all the time. Why password protect the Console, then have to re-enter the admin name for each client install?

I have a list of folder exclusions I would like to push out - a long one for the server, and a shorter one for the clients. I am having a hard time sorting out how to push out changes, not just for an exclusion list but others as well, because the functionality of the various branches of the configuration editor isn't very well explained in the documentation so far. Is there a specific place for changing the way real-time scanning works, and a different place for startup scans and yet another for on-demand scans?

If I have a change I want sent out to the LAN, I will probably want that change added to my default installation package too - is that do-able?

Also, I have created a cfg.xml file that I use with the eav...msi installation file for installing the client as desired on off-lan systems, like in remote unconnected offices and laptops. If I want to send out configuration changes to them, do I have to completely uninstall the client on those systems, then re-install it with the new xml file? (I tried other methods, but none worked - even installing overtop of the previous installation didn't work.) Sems like a rather tedious way of making changes - it would be nice to have some way to import a new xml file into a system not under the management of the console.