Do you use SUPERAntiSpyware?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ams963, Feb 12, 2012.

?

Do you use SUPERAntiSpyware?

  1. Yes- PRO version

    27 vote(s)
    20.6%
  2. Yes- Free version

    30 vote(s)
    22.9%
  3. No- used to but not now, it's not good anymore

    16 vote(s)
    12.2%
  4. No- have license but don't use it as not needed with current setup/useless now

    9 vote(s)
    6.9%
  5. No- not needed with current setup

    17 vote(s)
    13.0%
  6. No- I have Malwarebytes Antimalware

    23 vote(s)
    17.6%
  7. No- I have other similar software

    6 vote(s)
    4.6%
  8. Never heard of it

    3 vote(s)
    2.3%
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Do you use SUPERAntiSpyware?
     
  2. carat

    carat Guest

    No - it fails nearly all MRG tests :doubt:
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,132
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I use portable version, it does not create startup/background proccess like Malwarebytes Antimalware Free.
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    oh! portable version....forgot to add that option......
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    No. I don't support products from certain developers.
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,210
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have the freeware version of it on my notebook & have been using it for over three years. I know that there have been concerns about it of late. I usually use it as an alternative on-demand scanner for anything I download. I tend to trust it as it once found a trojan that had slipped through SpywareBlaster & had also been missed by Norton & SpyBot. I never totally got on with MBAM.
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,673
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Same here. I removed the paid version more than a few years ago.
     
  8. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    no.. not needed now:isay:
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,134
    Location:
    USA
    I run the PRO version on demand and MBAM PRO real time. SAS has helped clear some heavy duty trojans from my kids pc. :)
     
  10. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,444
    I run the PRO version, only to check downloads. Also, check downloads with Emsisoft AM, too. Both, on demand, only.
     
  11. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Yes, the PRO version on all five of my computers.
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3,869
    I've used it as a scanner about 3 years ago. There are too many test results showing it isn't competitive even as a second opinion scanner.
     
  13. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,118
    Location:
    Europe
    No- I have other similar software: Emsisoft Antimalware Free.
     
  14. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    For cleaning up it's helpful - the portable version is nice.
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,210
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    If you don't mind me asking, & just out of curiosity, how many test results is too many? I've never been swayed that much by test results as they are not always that conclusive IMO. From what I have read SAS is usually recommended along with MBAM. Although MBAM is considered to have more efficacy in finding malware, SAS is not considered particularly far behind it. I never totally got on with MBAM & I am considering a possible alternative on-demand scanner to SAS. I can't see me uninstalling SAS in a great hurry though.
     
  16. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    NO,still have license but not needed with current setup. UNINSTALLED
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3,869
    http://malwareresearchgroup.com/malware-tests/flash-test-results/
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2392877,00.asp
    http://malwareresearchgroup.com/2010/02/22/malwarebytess-anti-malware-vs-superantispyware/

    The first link is particularly telling.
     
  18. TigerRaptorFX

    TigerRaptorFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Posts:
    58
    I did use it at one time. But after running my own tests I found Malwarebytes, Hitman Pro, and Emsisoft superior to it.
     
  19. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    With my current setup i don't really consider that i need it. :)
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,210
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  21. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Yeah right :rolleyes: SAS catches harmful/tracking cookies whereas the others such as MBAM don't pick up! Whenever I run MBAM it finds nothing but SAS finds about 5-15 harmful cookies and it cleans them for me!

    SAS pwns j00 and pwns MBAM
     
  22. TigerRaptorFX

    TigerRaptorFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Posts:
    58
    Sorry but you don't have much of an argument here. Malwarebytes is not design to detect cookies of any kind. They focus more on larger threats like Trojans, and such. Tracking cookies don't fit into this equation.
     
  23. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I haven't in a long and I don't see myself using it in the future :thumbd:
     
  24. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    I just use CCleaner to clear cookies. I guess that is the same function?
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    using sas pro.......:cool: