Do old Firewalls pose a security risk?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Setcho, Sep 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Setcho

Setcho Registered Member

Hi, I have been coming to this site for many years to gain information and I haven't felt the need to post before simply because any question I have ever had has already been answered before in a thread somewhere. This is a compliment to your community as a whole and retrospectively I'd like to thank you all for the help.:)

Anyway... what I mean by 'old firewalls' specifically relates to firewalls that are very infrequently updated e.g. Outpost Free and PC Tools or firewalls that are no longer free but a free version can still be downloaded e.g. Kerio Personal 2.1.5.

Just to give you some background, I'm on XP SP3 and I previously used Outpost Pro which I liked a lot but my license ran out recently so I've decided to go the free route. In the past I have used Online Armor but I installed 4.5 the other day and it caused a major lag in start up times. I'm using Private Firewall at the moment but I don't like it very much. As I liked Outpost so much I thought I would give their free version a go but I noticed it hasn't been updated since May 2009 and PC Tools hasn't been updated since September 2009 and Kerio is many years old.

So my question is would there be a risk in using one of these firewalls? My guess is the HIPS for Outpost and the Behavioural blocker for PC Tools (or whatever it is) are the things that pose a problem if they aren't updated. If this assumption is correct do you think I would be better off using a combination like Kerio and Threatfire (or Winpatrol) rather than relying on the old version of Outpost free.

Any advice you can give will be appreciated, thanks.

Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  2. datarishik

datarishik Registered Member

3. noone_particular

noone_particular Registered Member