do noscript/httpsb negate the need for disconnect/ghostery etc?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gaiko, Jan 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gaiko

gaiko Registered Member

In reading it seems like there are all combinations of privacy extensions in use out there and not alot of clarity. I'ma confessed noob so if i any assumptions I am making are grossly wrong please let me know.

I use noscript with FF and httpsb with chromium and have been trying those in combination with things like ghostery and disconnect, more to test things like ghostery/disconnect. I have noticed that ghostery/disconnect both tell me they are blocking things even when I have noscript/httpsb blocking everything which makes me wonder, which addon/extension is blocking what first?

Also, I am fairly new to HTTPSB and am liking it so far but I has lead me to wonder, does/did noscript block CSS/IMG/iframes/cookies (esp cookies) also? and does that feature negate the need for many of these other things like ghostery and noscript and cookie blockers?

2. MrBrian

MrBrian Registered Member

3. tlu

tlu Guest

Yes, but that does not apply to HTTPSB, IMO.

1. HTTPSB comes with a selection of huge hosts files that block probably more than Ghostery etc.
    2. Even if you have to allow a normally blocked host in order to make a site work properly, HTTPSB offers a very granular control of what exactly you allow (cookies/CSS/Images/scripts/plugins/XHR/frames/other).
    3. HTTPSB offers domain- or site-level scopes for its rules. Thus, such rules are effectively sandboxed for the respective site and not applied to others. In the newest version the site-level scope can be chosen as default.
    4. Beyond its cookie control HTTPSB offers a deletion of local storage, referer control and a timed deletion of the browser cache in oder to get rid of ETags.

Conclusion: With HTTPSB Ghostery etc. is superfluous.

4. kupo

kupo Registered Member