DNS servers

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by CJsDad, Dec 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Jan 22, 2006
    Question for anyone who uses (Dyn, ClearCloud, Open, Norton, etc.)

    Do you enter the primary and secondary DNS through your router or computer (TCP/IP)?
    Is there a difference or preference between doing it way or the other?
    Reason I'm asking is because I've read that some people say entering the DNS servers through your PC is better? If so then why is this the case?
    I've always used my router and never gave it a second thought until I read that article.
    Just curious as to what method the Wilders members prefer, router or computer but especially WHY you do it that way.
    Is it easier? Better? Safer? No difference? What?
  2. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Apr 8, 2010
    just around the next corner
    if no DNS specified in the computer and with DHCP it will use the DNS from the router. doubt there is difference in security whether the DNS is specified in the router or in the machine, unless there would be an attack between router and computer. hence when using a laptop on a public wifi not only the use of a VPN service is recommended but also setting the DNS on the computer, else the DNS of the public network provider would be utilized
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Jun 22, 2006
    all computers on the network will use the same dns if you input the dns servers in the router so its the better option.
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Apr 5, 2004
    It really doesn't matter. But if you set it on the router, and have all connected machines set to acquire the DNS details automatically (from the router) it means it's easy to change, since you only need to change the details in the router, if you ever wish to switch.

    However for me it's common practice to manually set the DNS settings on laptops that can be connected to the internet in different homes.
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Apr 21, 2007
    I got the OpenDNS IP's in the Router:thumb:
  6. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Mar 30, 2009
    If you enter DNS (same or different) both in your router as well as laptop, then the one in the PC will have precedence over the one in the router. I like entering my DNS in the laptop, as then if I take the laptop to my office or friend's home and connect through their router, my laptop's DNS, having precedence, is the one used.
  7. Bambo

    Bambo Registered Member

    Dec 10, 2006
    Depends on router/firmware. Might have something like Tomato firmware has, google "Intercept DNS Port(UDP 53)”, "block port 53" should work too. Other dns server than the one router is told to use are blocked. If dns service is used to filer certain categories as part of famility safety it will be safer. There are probably ways of circumventing block but most will not know them.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.