Ditched windows 7 in favor of Linux mint,

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by The Red Moon, Dec 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

The Red Moon Registered Member

Hi,
    Seeing as the new year is approaching ,i thought a fresh start in terms of how i use my laptop would seem appropriate.

Now after trialling linuxmint for several weeks i have decided to totally dump windows 7 altogether and use linuxmint 16.
    Im thoroughly impressed by this distro,im a newbie when it comes to linuxmint and i was wondering if any members could perhaps give some advice on which security measures i need to be taking.?

Any useful links for guidance on the use of linuxmint would be very much appreciated also.

Hope everyone had a wonderful xmas and i wish you all a happy new year.

2. oliverjia

oliverjia Registered Member

no offense, but you'll probably need Windows and Office if you have the need to exchange word/ppt/excel files with others.

3. J_L

J_L Registered Member

LibreOffice supports those formats fine in most cases. Kingsoft Office is also being developed, and it has even better compatibility. Then there are services like Google Docs. And lastly, there is Wine. No need for Windows at all for office work.

4. oliverjia

for simple style of these documents, yes;
    for the new office 2013 format with macros and scripts, or just some complicated styles, no you still need MS office.
    Office 2013 can not run on Wine yet.
    In fact, ms office is the major reason I still keep Windows as a dual boot entry on my computer.

5. J_L

J_L Registered Member

Real world usage of those fancy stuff? Not to the extent of needing Windows just to exchange office files. If you must, there's always the option of a virtual machine.

6. AlexC

AlexC Registered Member

Last time i tried, it was possible to easily run Office 2007 from Wine.

It's also possible to use a limited Office suite for free through an outlook.com mail account.