Disaster Recovery Checklist

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by StevoK, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StevoK

StevoK Registered Member

I bought Acronis specifically as a disaster recovery tool.

I have successfully (and easily) created a disk image to an external hard drive, and a bootable rescue CD.

What I DON'T have is a detailed instruction list of how to restore that disk image onto a new internal drive in the event I had to replace a crashed drive.

I read the HELP instructions, but I'm new to this, so I'm not familiar with the terminology and couldn't find answers to my questions.

How do I get my computer to boot from the rescue CD?
    Does my replacement drive have to be formatted?

Has anyone made a simple CHECKLIST that includes all these little details and doesn't "assume" any previous knowledge?

Thanks,
    Steve

2. jeremyotten

jeremyotten Registered Member

When the system is the same hardware and you just replaced the disks.

1. boot from resque cd
    2. restore image to new drive
    3. Boot your system

When you want to restore the image to a complete new hardware system in case of a flood or something

1. boor from reque cd with universal restore
    2. restore image to new system with universal restore and add the new massstorage drivers in the wizard. You can also make a driver base on you network and specify this as driver searchpath (ideal to fill is with are www.driverpacks.net)
    3. after successfull restore boot your new system
    4. New hardware will be found.
    5. Add manual the drivers that windows can't find and that weren't find in your specified driver search path.
    6. DONE! ;-)

3. bVolk

bVolk Registered Member

I'm afraid Help is not enough for a new user. You'd better download the User's Guide from the Acronis site.