Disabling RSS 2011 during program installs

Discussion in 'Returnil releases' started by Firebytes, Mar 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebytes

Firebytes Registered Member

I am again trying RSS 2011 on my wife's new Windows 7 64-bit laptop. I am new to this version of Returnil after using RVS 2008 for ages.

I was wondering what is the best way to disable RSS 2011 while installing/uninstalling other programs such as AV's or firewalls? I think it's sometimes wise to disable other running programs when installing/uninstalling other software, especially security software. (Returnil even advises disabling other security software when you install it.) Do I just kill the Returnil GUI in Task Manager and/or stop the RSS Core Service?

Thanks

2. ameyap

ameyap Registered Member

Here's what I do. I have disabled the returnil from startup. I only start returnil when I want to test/do something risky.
    If this is not what you want, you will have to stop returnil from windows task manager processes and not just close the gui to prevent any conflict with the antivirus/firewall or other safe programs you are installing (assuming of course you are NOT running in virtual mode, else you will have to stop that first). Don't forget to start returnil again after you are done.
    Hope that helps

3. Robin A.

Robin A. Registered Member

I think to really disable Returnil, you have to uninstall it.

4. Coldmoon

Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

Hi,
    All you need to do is to ensure that the Virtual Mode is deactivated. You can go a further step to disable the Real time monitor in the Virus guard if you think it necessary, but to date, the VG RTM has not been a source of reported issues when upgrading or installing new applications. This is of course assuming the update and/or program you are installing is clean...