DEP problems or bug of your "control.exe"?

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Armoured, Nov 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Armoured

    Armoured Guest

    Hi.
    I have problems with your "control.exe" and the DEP of Windows XP sp2.
    You think to fix this bug or "special feature" in a short time?


    P.S.
    With DEP on my PC doesn't start because your program crash the entire system.
    With the DEP off sometimes your control.exe give to me the identical errors.
    Are you sure to have a real compatibility with Windows XP sp2?

    Thanks
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Sorry, thought I was still in the process Guard forum.

    I am afraid I cannot answer your question about TDS3 and DEP hopefully DCS will answer in the morning.

    Pilli
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  3. Armoured

    Armoured Guest

    Hi Pili.
    I have a registered TDS version (Action Pack) and I haven't any old version before this. :(


    Thanks.
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    OK That will help DCS with their response you could also email them support@diamondcs.com.au for a direct response.

    Can you please give us the pc's specification CPU etc.

    Thanks Pilli
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I've emailed you back about this, please send us the program - its NOT our program there is no "control.exe" installed by any of our programs. I would treat this as a possible compromise and be ready to backup data and wipe/clean the system.. just in case.
     
  6. Armoured

    Armoured Guest

    Hi.
    I have found the cause of the problem is WormGuard 3. :(
    If I turn off the WormGuard protection all work well but if I turn the protection on and modify some settings in the control panel (control.exe) Windows give to me an error request and a new "control.exe" with a zero bytes in length is created.
    I think there are big problems with WormGuard and DEP.


    Thanks.
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Armoured, That is a possibility, as WormGuard is a relatively old program but my guess is that you can get over it by using WG's Allow list.
    Maybe you could try adding control.exe with it's full path to the WG allow list.
    For instance when running Process Guard I have to give an allow for the XP system restore function to work that looks like this:
    c:\windows\system32\rstrui.exe

    HTH Pilli
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.