Dell Help

Discussion in 'hardware' started by rallyman, Dec 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rallyman

rallyman Registered Member

Hi there, great site guys!
    Looking for some help.....:D HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
    Thanks for looking at this and even more so if you help!
    I am studying my A+ and decided to get a broken PC to help me with it rather than trashing the normal PC :rolleyes: ...Oh dear and I'm asking for help already........ I have not got off to a good start!
    I have bought a spares/repair Dell SFF GX280(dodgey HD) ......:argh: I dont think I have made things easy! o_O

Ok...The hard disk supplied isn't working, so after I checked bios/setup and nothing is found on SATA0 and SATA2. So I went and bought a new HD (MAXTOR diamondMax 21). Upon fitting this the Bios still finds nothing...
    However I found an old IDE HD that when plugged into the CD drive port (PATA0) it booted from, it runs ok-ish.... well it is on W98!
    I have a IDE to SATA converter that when connected to the HD SATA 0 still does not produce any results.

My question are: Is the Motherboard toast? How can I tell - is there a test. I do not have another SATA drive. o_O
    Is the new Hard disk faulty, I will check the "new" one on a friends PC soon.
    Or do I need to correct some settings in BIOS?

BOIS version A04 02-09-05

After reading many threads and checking there are no toasted or bulging capacitors and I have tried new SATA leads

Many Thanks

Michael

2. wtsinnc

wtsinnc Registered Member

Hello rallyman.

Problems such as this can sometimes be traced to a bad, incorrect, or missing driver.
    Go to device manager, click on disc drives, and run the troubleshooter.

-Also-

If you see the yellow icon next to any category, that should be investigated and the problem corrected regardless of the category.

Here is the manual for the GX-280 SFF.
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/opgx280/en/ug/index.htm

3. rallyman

Hi there,