Deep Freeze

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Vikorr, Jun 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vikorr

Vikorr Registered Member

Hi, saw a mention about Deep Freeze in another thread.

Just looking for user opinion on it. Also, how easy is it to use, and how easy is it to add a new program to the 'frozen computer' image (or whatever they call it)

2. Acadia

Acadia Registered Member

Hi, Vikorr. If you are interested in DeepFreeze, which I have no experience with, I recommend that you also check out GoBack and FirstDefense-ISR, two programs that I am very familiar with; several other folks in these forums also use either one of those two programs. Take care.

Acadia

3. snowboard

snowboard Registered Member

I have Goback and it is a very easy program to locate things on it ;)

Regards,

snowboard

4. Vikorr

Vikorr Registered Member

Thing that caught my interest about DeepFreeze is that it restores your system settings every reboot...which seems a very easy way to keep your system clean and running smoothly.

Just don't know how easy it is to add new programs, or change settings that you may want to change down the track.

Had a quick look at the other two, which seemed more of a 'choose your last restore point/favoured restore point'...which seems a little more complicated <but less of a problem with adding new software I suppose>

5. Acadia

Acadia Registered Member

Yes, if you want "simplicity", then stay away from FirstDefense. It is not a "set-and-forget" type of program, whereas GoBack basically is. I enjoy the flexibility and options that FD gives me, but it does take some thinking and planning ahead.

Acadia

6. Rmus

Rmus Exploit Analyst

Hello Vikorr,