DD10 doesn't do Windows-type 'Extended Partiitions'?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by robertles, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robertles

robertles Registered Member

Hello all

I'm totally new to Disk Director. A long time ago I was a user of PartitionMagic in conjunction with Win98 and - so far as I recall - PM emulated the Windows (M$, I suppose I should say) convention of using an extended partition as a container to hold a theoretically-unlimited number of logical partitions, thereby overcoming the limitation of any hard drive to not more than 4 primary partitions.

So far as I can see (after having examined the Manual and done a quick search of this forum), DD doesn't do this. Instead, apparently, to get more than 4 partitions you have to observe a limit of 3 Primary partitions and then, if more partitions are needed, NOT add a 4th Extended (ie Primary) partition but just go on adding logical partitions, using unallocated space as necessary.

For some reason (maybe my Windows/PartitionMagic background) I find this surprising/confusing. So I just wanted to make sure:-
    1. have I got it right?
    2. why does Acronis take this different approach?
    3. am I the only one who finds it confusing? o_O
    [/LIST]

2. K0LO

K0LO Registered Member

I'd like to hear an expert's explanation of this myself.

I have noticed that logical partitions created by DD are shown inside a "container" when viewed by Windows Disk Management Console, or Partition Magic, or GParted, or QtParted. However, a disk with logical partitions created by DD will generate an error when viewed with Partition Magic. I can't remember the exact text of the error message, but something about the extended partion not being marked as Extend-X. But the partitions created by DD work just fine.