Corrupt CD-RW file

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by qcbloke, Aug 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qcbloke

    qcbloke Registered Member

    Aug 3, 2005
    I've been like a dog chasing his tail today with this problem:

    1. Using Acronis 8, I create a drive image in 650MB increments (10 total) and save these to file. Acronis verifies the files.
    2. Using NTI CD&DVD Maker software, I burn the 1st. 650MB increment to a fresh 700MB CD-RW. At the end of the burn, NTI, also, verifies the newly recorded file.
    3. But when I attempt to open the file with Acronis, I get the error message: "Image archive D:\My is corrupted. Please choose another file."

    I have XP SP2, on a 2.5GHZ processor with 512megs memory.

  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Apr 28, 2004
    Hello qcbloke,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please clarify what exact actions are you trying to perform?

    Please also describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Thank you.
    Alexey Popov
  3. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Apr 19, 2005
    Content deleted because info was wrong
  4. soarwind

    soarwind Registered Member

    Aug 6, 2005
    I've had the same problem in burning the Acronis True Image backup files after I had True Image 8.0 (newest build) split the image in 650mb increments. I burn those image files to a CD-RW disc after which when I try to get True Image to open the file, I get the same error as qcbloke.

    Acronis Support, are you able to help? I think qcbloke had explained his issue quite succinctly and I hope that you could help, please!
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Jul 10, 2004
    San Rafael, CA
    On the hard drive, when you verify the image, it doesn't matter which piece of the image you select. TrueImage will real all the pieces and verify the whole image.

    According to what you said, you have only burned the first piece of the image to CD and you are trying to verify that one piece. TI can't do that. It can only verify the whole image. You need to burn all 10 CDs and then do the verification. (It will take quite a while reading from CDs.)
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Aug 19, 2004
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello qcbloke,

    Also, when verifying an image that has been recorded to multiple CDs or DVDs, you will need to insert the last disk volume first and then follow TI's prompts to insert subsequent disks.

    It's not clear what you meant by " the file with Acronis,....". If you were attempting to mount and explore the image rather than verify it, then all ten CDs would have needed to be copied back to a single partition or folder on your hard drive first. As you had only recorded one of the .tib files to CD at that time, you wouldn't have been able to do it anyway!!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.