Confusion

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by happyshiner, Jan 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. happyshiner

happyshiner Guest

Hi,

I am pretty confused. I have downloaded various software to protect myself from spyware, my personal hate. But, being a member of various yahoo groups, I have found I'm unable now to enter the chat facility in them. The message I get is 'Your current security settings prohibit running ActiveX controls on this page. As a result, the page may not display correctly'. I am completely unable to enter chat, the resulting page I get is blank. Firstly, I don't even know what this is, let alone how I go about changing it. Now, I want protection, yet I want to be able to chat if I want to also. I should say here that I am no computer expert, I hold no degree in them, so if someone could give me any advice in an easy to understand language, I'd really appreciate it *S*. The software I have downloaded is 'SpyewareGuard and Repel', although I'm not certain this is the cause. I have already looked at my Internet settings and there are no clues there. Help.

Happyshiner

2. HappyShiner

HappyShiner Guest

Oh,

Forgot to mention, have MRU-Blaster on there too. I should also say I have kept up to speed on all the updates on each of the programs I've mentioned.

HappyShiner

3. subratam

subratam Registered Member

hey Happy,
    welcome to wilders, mate
    see if this helps you:

If using Internet Explorer:

1. Click on View then click Internet Options.
    2. Click on the Security tab.
    3. Under Internet Zone, choose Customize and then click on the Settings button.
    4. Under the Settings, set the following to ENABLE:

* Script ActiveX controls marked safe for scripting
    * Run ActiveX controls and plugins

5. Set the following to DISABLED:

* Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe.

6. Set the following to ENABLED :

* Download signed ActiveX controls

( But Happy,