Chrome lost extensions and other settings

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Page42, Sep 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,596
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Boom! Out of nowhere, today Chrome 13.0.782.218 lost both extensions I had installed (actually 3 cause 1 was disabled but still installed).
    And it lost the under the hood settings, etc.
    Only thing I did was run CCleaner w/CCEnhancer, which I do plenty of times and no such loss occurs.
    What the heck happened?
    And what file should I backup in case I need to restore Chrome settings in the future?
    Weird.
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,714
    I know a lot of folks don't want to use Chromium because it is the development tree of Chrome, but I really like the copy/paste part of this. I know that my profile is in one place, and the program files are in another. It doesn't stop corruptions and things from happening, but it does allow me to be the boss of what happens.

    Sul.
     
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    I'm sorry but I don't see why one can't "copy/paste" with Chrome. (And, yes, I don't like recommending Chromium as a solution to Chrome problems :D : D :D )

    Chrome has a folder called "Default" which keeps all the user goodies. And I'm not sure that that folder is in the same place as the program files, IIRC, with Win XP which is what page42 is on.

    (On a lighter note, if that's permissible, this is just Chrome's way of showing resentment to the introduction of AdMuncher ;) )

    In edit: For Win XP ...
    is the place for users' extensions, etc.
    Source: http://dev.chromium.org/getting-involved/dev-channel
     
  4. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,714
    Well, I suppose you could copy/paste Chrome, but it seems a waste of time compared to Chromium, considering it is easy to get a new .zip version of Chromium for easy updating, which is why I mentioned copy/paste. With Chrome it has been my experience they don't make it as easy to find the offline version. I have a few links that used to have offline versions that don't work. I don't recall now, but can you even extract a Chrome offline installer, or does it only install?

    Sul.
     
  5. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    I had this happen to me as well Page, when i did sync after restoring a system backup.
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Last time I tried, it wasn't that easy. You could either use Universal Extractor (it used to work) or install to Sandboxie, and then get the file chrome.7z.
     
  7. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    I'm totally foxed. I genuinely don't see what the problem is with Chrome's updating. Isn't it easy? And differential?
     
  8. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    No, you don't need UniExtractor, it's very easy using Winrar (twice).
    But ,anyway, i do what Vasa1 says. I copy/paste the "Default" folder in my hard drive
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,596
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Excellent. I think I shall begin by backing up that folder. :thumb:
    Would you believe I had a very similar thought myself?!? Though I did not think far enough ahead to attribute it to resentment. That saves a lot of troubleshooting! ;)
    Thank you. Always good to know. By any chance, had you recently installed Ad Muncher? :D
     
  10. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    Inanimate objects have feelings too. Check out resistentialism. Life becomes simpler then. Notice, I never rubbish browsers. People who do, have constant issues with them ;)
     
  11. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Nope. I don't use Ad Muncher, nice try :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.